Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated
  • Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated


    The official D&D Sage Advice Compendium, by Jeremy Crawford, has been updated.




    New items include:

    Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature. Your choice for the racial trait is your actual ancestor, while the choice for the class feature could be your ancestor figurativelyóthe type of dragon that bestowed magic upon you or your family or the kind of draconic artifact or location that filled you with magical energy.

    Do the benefits from Bardic Inspiration and the guidance spell stack? Can they be applied to the same roll? Yes, different effects stack if they donít have the same name. If a creature makes an ability check while it is under the effect of a guidance spell and also has a Bardic Inspiration die, it can roll both a d4 and a d6 if it so chooses.

    Is the intent that a bard gets to know the number rolled on an attack roll or ability check before using Cutting Words, or should they always guess? If used on a damage roll, does Cutting Words apply to any kind of damage roll including an auto-hit spell like magic missile?
    You can wait to use Cutting Words after the roll, but you must commit to doing so before you know for sure whether the total of the roll or check is a success or a failure. You can use Cutting Words to reduce the damage from any effect that calls for a damage roll (including magic missile) even if the damage roll is not preceded by an attack roll.

    Does the fighterís Action Surge feature let you take an extra bonus action, in addition to an extra action? Action Surge gives you an extra action, not an extra bonus action. (Recent printings of the Playerís Handbook no longer include the wording that provoked this question.)

    Can a bound and gagged druid simply use Wild Shape to get out? Itís hard to capture someone who can turn into a mouse at will. Transforming into a different size can be an effective way of escaping, depending on the nature of the bonds or confinement. All things considered, someone trying to keep a druid captive might be wise to stash the prisoner in a room with an opening only large enough for air to enter.

    Can a monk use Stunning Strike with an unarmed strike, even though unarmed strikes arenít weapons? Yes. Stunning Strike works with melee weapon attacks, and an unarmed strike is a special type of melee weapon attack. The game often makes exceptions to general rules, and this is an important exception: that unarmed strikes count as melee weapon attacks despite not being weapons.

    Can the rogueís Reliable Talent feature be used in conjunction with Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades? No. Each of these features has a precondition for its use; Reliable Talent activates when you make an ability check that uses your proficiency bonus, whereas the other two features activate when you make an ability check that doesnít use your proficiency bonus. In other words, a check that qualifies for Reliable Talent doesnít qualify for Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades. And Remarkable Athlete and Jack of All Trades donít work with each other, since you can add your proficiency bonus, or any portion thereof, only once to a roll.

    The Shield Master feat lets you shove someone as a bonus action if you take the Attack action. Can you take that bonus action before the Attack action? No. The bonus action provided by the Shield Master feat has a precondition: that you take the Attack action on your turn. Intending to take that action isnít sufficient; you must actually take it before you can take the bonus action. During your turn, you do get to decide when to take the bonus action after youíve taken the Attack action. This sort of if-then setup appears in many of the gameís rules. The "if" must be satisfied before the "then" comes into play.

    Is there a hard limit on how many short rests characters can take in a day, or is this purely up to the DM to decide? The only hard limit on the number of short rests you can take is the number of hours in a day. In practice, youíre also limited by time pressures in the story and foes interrupting.

    If the damage from disintegrate reduces a half-orc to 0 hit points, can Relentless Endurance prevent the orc from turning to ash? Yes. The disintegrate spell turns you into dust only if the spellís damage leaves you with 0 hit points. If youíre a half-orc, Relentless Endurance can turn the 0 into a 1 before the spell can disintegrate you.

    What happens if a druid using Wild Shape is reduced to 0 hit points by disintegrate? Does the druid simply leave beast form? The druid leaves beast form. As usual, any leftover damage then applies to the druidís normal hit points. If the leftover damage leaves the druid with 0 hit points, the druid is disintegrated.

    Using 5-foot squares, does cloud of daggers affect a single square? Cloud of daggers (5 ft. cube) can affect more than one square on a grid, unless the DM says effects snap to the grid. There are many ways to position that cube.

    What actions can monsters use to make opportunity attacks? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed? A monster follows the normal opportunity attack rules (PH, 195), which specify that an attack of opportunity is one melee attack. That means a monster must choose a single melee attack to make, either an attack in its stat block or a generic attack, like an unarmed strike. Multiattack doesnít qualify, not only because itís more than one attack, but also because the rule on Multiattack (MM, 11) states that this action canít be used for opportunity attacks. An action, such as a breath weapon, that doesnít include an attack roll is also not eligible.

    The stinking cloud spell says that a creature wastes its action on a failed save. So can it still use a move or a bonus action or a reaction? Correct. The gas doesnít immobilize a creature or prevent it from acting altogether, but the effect of the spell does limit what it can accomplish while the cloud lingers.

    Does a creature with Magic Resistance have advantage on saving throws against Channel Divinity abilities, such as Turn the Faithless? Channel Divinity creates magical effects (as stated in both the cleric and the paladin). Magic Resistance applies.





    Comments 512 Comments
    1. 5ekyu's Avatar
      5ekyu -
      Quote Originally Posted by MechaTarrasque View Post
      Sorry if someone already posted this, but yesterday the Sage Advice Compendium got updated: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage...ice-compendium.

      New things:

      [NEW]
      Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature. Your choice for the racial trait is your actual ancestor, while the choice for the class feature could be your ancestor figurativelyóthe type of dragon that bestowed magic upon you or your family or the kind of draconic artifact or location that filled you with magical energy.

      [NEW]
      Do the benefits from Bardic Inspiration and the guidance spell stack? Can they be applied to the same roll? Yes, different effects stack if they donít have the same name. If a creature makes an ability check while it is under the effect of a guidance spell and also has a Bardic Inspiration die, it can roll both a d4 and a d6 if it so chooses.

      [NEW]
      Is the intent that a bard gets to know the number rolled on an attack roll or ability check before using Cutting Words, or should they always guess? If used on a damage roll, does Cutting Words apply to any kind of damage roll including an auto-hit spell like magic missile?
      You can wait to use Cutting Words after the roll, but you must commit to doing so before you know for sure whether the total of the roll or check is a success or a failure. You can use Cutting Words to reduce the damage from any effect that calls for a damage roll (including magic missile) even if the damage roll is not preceded by an attack roll.


      [NEW]

      Does the fighterís Action Surge feature let you take an extra bonus action, in addition to an extra action? Action Surge gives you an extra action, not an extra bonus action. (Recent printings of the Playerís Handbook no longer include the wording that provoked this question.)




      [NEW]


      Can a bound and gagged druid simply use Wild Shape to get out? Itís hard to capture someone who can turn into a mouse at will. Transforming into a different size can be an effective way of escaping, depending on the nature of the bonds or confinement. All things considered, someone trying to keep a druid captive might be wise to stash the prisoner in a room with an opening only large enough for air to enter.




      [NEW]

      Can a monk use Stunning Strike with an unarmed strike, even though unarmed strikes arenít weapons? Yes. Stunning Strike works with melee weapon attacks, and an unarmed strike is a special type of melee weapon attack. The game often makes exceptions to general rules, and this is an important exception: that unarmed strikes count as melee weapon attacks despite not being weapons.


      [NEW]


      Can the rogueís Reliable Talent feature be used in conjunction with Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades? No. Each of these features has a precondition for its use; Reliable Talent activates when you make an ability check that uses your proficiency bonus, whereas the other two features activate when you make an ability check that doesnít use your proficiency bonus. In other words, a check that qualifies for Reliable Talent doesnít qualify for Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades. And Remarkable Athlete and Jack of All Trades donít work with each other, since you can add your proficiency bonus, or any portion thereof, only once to a roll.




      [NEW]

      The Shield Master feat lets you shove someone as a bonus action if you take the Attack action. Can you take that bonus action before the Attack action? No. The bonus action provided by the Shield Master feat has a precondition: that you take the Attack action on your turn. Intending to take that action isnít sufficient; you must actually take it before you can take the bonus action. During your turn, you do get to decide when to take the bonus action after youíve taken the Attack action. This sort of if-then setup appears in many of the gameís rules. The "if" must be satisfied before the "then" comes into play.




      [NEW]

      Is there a hard limit on how many short rests characters can take in a day, or is this purely up to the DM to decide? The only hard limit on the number of short rests you can take is the number of hours in a day. In practice, youíre also limited by time pressures in the story and foes interrupting.

      [NEW]

      If the damage from disintegrate reduces a half-orc to 0 hit points, can Relentless Endurance prevent the orc from turning to ash? Yes. The disintegrate spell turns you into dust only if the spellís damage leaves you with 0 hit points. If youíre a half-orc, Relentless Endurance can turn the 0 into a 1 before the spell can disintegrate you.




      [NEW]

      What happens if a druid using Wild Shape is reduced to 0 hit points by disintegrate? Does the druid simply leave beast form? The druid leaves beast form. As usual, any leftover damage then applies to the druidís normal hit points. If the leftover damage leaves the druid with 0 hit points, the druid is disintegrated.




      [NEW]

      Using 5-foot squares, does cloud of daggers affect a single square? Cloud of daggers (5 ft. cube) can affect more than one square on a grid, unless the DM says effects snap to the grid. There are many ways to position that cube.




      [NEW]

      What actions can monsters use to make opportunity attacks? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed? A monster follows the normal opportunity attack rules (PH, 195), which specify that an attack of opportunity is one melee attack. That means a monster must choose a single melee attack to make, either an attack in its stat block or a generic attack, like an unarmed strike. Multiattack doesnít qualify, not only because itís more than one attack, but also because the rule on Multiattack (MM, 11) states that this action canít be used for opportunity attacks. An action, such as a breath weapon, that doesnít include an attack roll is also not eligible.



      [NEW]

      The stinking cloud spell says that a creature wastes its action on a failed save. So can it still use a move or a bonus action or a reaction? Correct. The gas doesnít immobilize a creature or prevent it from acting altogether, but the effect of the spell does limit what it can accomplish while the cloud lingers.



      [NEW]

      Does a creature with Magic Resistance have advantage on saving throws against Channel Divinity abilities, such as Turn the Faithless? Channel Divinity creates magical effects (as stated in both the cleric and the paladin). Magic Resistance applies.





      I wish the reply on stinking cloud had been more precise - since losing action loses you your bonus action too. Movement and reactions are fine but *technically* spending your action stretching is not the same as losing your action or cannot take action so this reply means...

      Inside stinking cloud with failed save, I can still use bonus action abilities and spells that are otherwise legal.

      If that's the actual intent, fine, but it seems off.
    1. Paul Farquhar's Avatar
      Paul Farquhar -
      Losing an action does not lose your bonus action. It may leave you unable to trigger a bonus action if an action was required to trigger it (eg. duel wielding). Rogues in particular have things they can do as bonus actions even if they have no action. Or a sorcerer could cast a quickened spell, etc.
    1. Yunru's Avatar
      Yunru -
      I see nothing about having to complete the Attack action, only take it.
      Good, everything is as it was.
    1. Ristamar's Avatar
      Ristamar -
      Quote Originally Posted by Paul Farquhar View Post
      Losing an action does not lose your bonus action. It may leave you unable to trigger a bonus action if an action was required to trigger it (eg. duel wielding). Rogues in particular have things they can do as bonus actions even if they have no action. Or a sorcerer could cast a quickened spell, etc.
      "...anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action."

      PHB, page 189


      Quote Originally Posted by 5ekyu View Post
      I wish the reply on stinking cloud had been more precise - since losing action loses you your bonus action too. Movement and reactions are fine but *technically* spending your action stretching is not the same as losing your action or cannot take action so this reply means...

      Inside stinking cloud with failed save, I can still use bonus action abilities and spells that are otherwise legal.

      If that's the actual intent, fine, but it seems off.
      Strictly speaking, it makes sense. You aren't deprived of your ability to take an action (i.e. Surprised, Paralyzed, etc), but the only action available to you in the Stinking Cloud is coughing.
    1. Paul Farquhar's Avatar
      Paul Farquhar -
      Ah, I see why you find the Sage advice confusing. This spell does not "deprive you of you ability to take actions". It causes you to "spend your action retching and reeling". I.e. you still have an action, but you have no choice over what you do with it. It's a compulsory vomit action.

      It's fairly clear if you look at the wording of the spell - specific beats general.
    1. DM Dave1's Avatar
      DM Dave1 -
      Quote Originally Posted by Ristamar View Post
      "...anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action."

      PHB, page 189

      Strictly speaking, it makes sense. You aren't deprived of your ability to take an action (i.e. Surprised, Paralyzed, etc), but the only action available to you in the Stinking Cloud is coughing.
      And the retching! Don't forget the retching. And the reeling. Oh, the reeling.
    1. DM Dave1's Avatar
      DM Dave1 -
      Quote Originally Posted by Paul Farquhar View Post
      Ah, I see why you find the Sage advice confusing. This spell does not "deprive you of you ability to take actions". It causes you to "spend your action retching and reeling". I.e. you still have an action, but you have no choice over what you do with it. It's a compulsory vomit action.

      It's fairly clear if you look at the wording of the spell - specific beats general.
      Disagree. "the creature spends its action that turn retching and reeling." Hence the creature has wasted its action or, put another way, it is deprived of taking real actions outlined in the PHB. Hence no bonus action per PHB rule that @Ristamar quoted.
    1. Yunru's Avatar
      Yunru -
      Quote Originally Posted by DM Dave1 View Post
      Disagree. "the creature spends its action that turn retching and reeling." Hence the creature has wasted its action or, put another way, it is deprived of taking real actions outlined in the PHB. Hence no bonus action per PHB rule that @Ristamar quoted.
      Not at all. There's a big difference between "Cannot take it's action" (See Petrified and... Slowed?) and "must spend it's action doing" (See Fear)
    1. Oofta's Avatar
      Oofta -
      Quote Originally Posted by Yunru View Post
      I see nothing about having to complete the Attack action, only take it.
      Good, everything is as it was.
      With endless questions of what it means to take the attack action?
    1. BluejayJunior's Avatar
      BluejayJunior -
      Quote Originally Posted by DM Dave1 View Post
      Disagree. "the creature spends its action that turn retching and reeling." Hence the creature has wasted its action or, put another way, it is deprived of taking real actions outlined in the PHB. Hence no bonus action per PHB rule that @Ristamar quoted.
      The creature still has it's action, it is just being forced to use it in a specific way. That way may be wasteful, but it isn't being mechanically deprived of the action. The Action is still being taken. Stinking Cloud does not "deprive you of the ability to take actions" even though the action you take is not beneficial.
    1. DM Dave1's Avatar
      DM Dave1 -
      Quote Originally Posted by Yunru View Post
      Not at all. There's a big difference between "Cannot take it's action" (See Petrified and... Slowed?) and "must spend it's action doing" (See Fear)
      Perhaps you are right. But in the case of Stinking Cloud, "must spend it's action doing" the retching and the reeling may effectively be the same thing as "cannot take it's action". Right? Bonus action spells like Healing Word or Misty Step? Yeah, verbal component doesn't work so well while you're retching. Rogue Cunning Action bonus action to Dash or Dodge? Not so much when you are doubled over reeling. Maybe Cunning Action to Hide, I suppose, but likely at Disadvantage since, you know, noisy and staggering. Druid coming out of wild shape? Probably - but jeez now we're getting into real edge cases.

      Perhaps rulings not rules covers it. At the table, regardless of how one wants to interpret Sage Advice or the PHB, if a player had a really good explanation for why they could carry out their bonus action while under the effects of Stinking Cloud, of course I'd say "yes". Or... "yes and... Dex save to not slip on the stuff that's on the floor!"
    1. dave2008's Avatar
      dave2008 -
      Quote Originally Posted by DM Dave1 View Post
      Perhaps you are right. But in the case of Stinking Cloud, "must spend it's action doing" the retching and the reeling may effectively be the same thing as "cannot take it's action". Right? Bonus action spells like Healing Word or Misty Step? Yeah, verbal component doesn't work so well while you're retching. Rogue Cunning Action bonus action to Dash or Dodge? Not so much when you are doubled over reeling. Maybe Cunning Action to Hide, I suppose, but likely at Disadvantage since, you know, noisy and staggering. Druid coming out of wild shape? Probably - but jeez now we're getting into real edge cases.

      Perhaps rulings not rules covers it. At the table, regardless of how one wants to interpret Sage Advice or the PHB, if a player had a really good explanation for why they could carry out their bonus action while under the effects of Stinking Cloud, of course I'd say "yes". Or... "yes and... Dex save to not slip on the stuff that's on the floor!"
      I feel the rules are clear on this and the sage advice only clarified. I think you are on the outside on this one - great name though

      The rule on limiting bonus actions doesn't apply because you indeed are taking an action.
    1. DM Dave1's Avatar
      DM Dave1 -
      Quote Originally Posted by dave2008 View Post
      I feel the rules are clear on this and the sage advice only clarified. I think you are the outside on this one - great name though

      The rule on limiting bonus actions doesn't apply because you indeed are taking an action.
      Likewise!

      Yeah, I'm now convinced that free standing bonus actions are possible to invoke even when taking a "forced" action. But whether the bonus action works or not is case specific. I was conflating rulings and rules upthread.

      Example:
      Player: My PC would like to Misty Step out of the Stinking Cloud
      DM: Ok, you use your bonus action to attempt to cast Misty Step... give me a CON check (DC 8 + however much you failed the initial CON check) to see if you can get the words out properly between the retches...

      Something like that instead of saying "No, you can't use a bonus action b/c rules (that I've misinterpreted... sorry Sage advice)!"

      This rule is gaining focus for me. Thanks @dave2008 and @Yunru and @BluejayJunior!

      Cheers
    1. BluejayJunior's Avatar
      BluejayJunior -
      Glad to be of help!
      I agree that certain bonus actions may not be possible due to the coughing/retching. Harder to cast spells, difficulty hiding, etc.
    1. 5ekyu's Avatar
      5ekyu -
      Quote Originally Posted by Paul Farquhar View Post
      Ah, I see why you find the Sage advice confusing. This spell does not "deprive you of you ability to take actions". It causes you to "spend your action retching and reeling". I.e. you still have an action, but you have no choice over what you do with it. It's a compulsory vomit action.

      It's fairly clear if you look at the wording of the spell - specific beats general.
      i said as much in my post - that spending an action retching is not the same as losing an action and so that is what it amounts to...

      But, to me that seems off - allowing a healing word cast but not a firebolt or a cure wounds or allowing a cunning action dash but not a regular dash... etc etc.

      As it stands its an odd spell that one might want to stand in... if say one has already weaponized your BA and are keeping concentration on another spell.
    1. Gladius Legis -
      Quote Originally Posted by Oofta View Post
      With endless questions of what it means to take the attack action?
      Shouldn't be any question. You took the Attack action as long as you already made one attack with your action (since, you know, you're committed at that point).

      So Shield Master with this ruling works as many in that recent thread thought it should: Make the first attack of your action, but after that you can shove before making your other attack(s).
    1. DQDesign's Avatar
      DQDesign -
      having a character especially resistant against one of the most iconic game spells just because she is a half-orc is totally silly, IMO.
    1. Yunru's Avatar
      Yunru -
      Quote Originally Posted by Gladius Legis View Post
      Shouldn't be any question. You took the Attack action as long as you already made one attack with your action (since, you know, you're committed at that point).

      So Shield Master with this ruling works as many in that recent thread thought it should: Make the first attack of your action, but after that you can shove before making your other attack(s).
      Actually, just declaring "I take the Attack action" still qualifies
    1. Charlaquin's Avatar
      Charlaquin -
      Quote Originally Posted by DQDesign View Post
      having a character especially resistant against one of the most iconic game spells just because she is a half-orc is totally silly, IMO.
      No more resistant than they are against everything else that does damage.
    1. Oofta's Avatar
      Oofta -
      Quote Originally Posted by Gladius Legis View Post
      Shouldn't be any question. You took the Attack action as long as you already made one attack with your action (since, you know, you're committed at that point).

      So Shield Master with this ruling works as many in that recent thread thought it should: Make the first attack of your action, but after that you can shove before making your other attack(s).
      That is one interpretation. Others rule that the action must be completed (all attacks) before you've "taken" it. I go the other extreme of saying that it doesn't even require an attack - simply saying "I'm attacking the ___" is good enough.

      It's been debated ad nauseam over on other threads.
    Comments Leave Comment