Feat stacking question: Raging Storm, Eladrin Soldier, Weapon of Myrdroon's Shard

Orcus Porkus

First Post
I do know that bonus don't stack unless they are from "different types" (see quote below.)

Now if you have Eladrin Soldier (+2 feat bonus on damage with spears), Raging Storm (+1 feat bonus on damage with the keyword "lightning"), and you use the Weapon of Myrdroon's Shard, please tell me, is the following interpretation correct:

- For the at-will power the bonus from Raging Storm doesn't apply because the keyword lightning is missing (even though it's lightning damage)

- For the daily, the initial target gets the regular weapon damage from the attack (including Eladrin Soldier), plus the 1d8 extra lightning damage from the daily and also the +1 bonus from Raging Storm. The adjacent creatures receive each 1d8+1 damage (includes the Raging Storm bonus).

- I can apply the Daily Power after I know I hit the target.


PHB page 193: Bonuses of different types stack as well. If you
have Fleet-Footed and Fast Runner, you have a +1 feat
bonus to your speed all the time (from Fleet-Footed),
and an additional +2 bonus when you charge or run
(from Fast Runner). So your speed when you charge is
3 higher than it would be if you had neither feat.
Eladrin Soldier

Heroic Tier
Prerequisite: Eladrin
Benefit: You gain proficiency with all spears and a +2 feat bonus to damage rolls with longswords and all spears.
Raging Storm

Heroic Tier
Prerequisite: Con 13, Dex 13
Benefit: You gain a +1 feat bonus to damage rolls when you use a power that has the lightning or the thunder keyword.

At 11th level, this bonus increases to +2. At 21st level, it increases to +3.
Weapon of Myrdroon's Shard

Made from a shard of Myrdroon’s spear, this weapon looses devastating lightning.
Level: 4
Price: 840 gp
Weapon: Spear
Enhancement: +1 Attack rolls and damage rolls
Critical: +1d8 lightning damage
Power (At-Will): Standard Action. Make a melee basic attack with the weapon, with reach one greater than normal. All damage dealt by this attack is lightning damage.

Power (Daily • Lightning): Free Action. Use this power when you hit with the weapon. Push the target 2 squares, and the target and each creature adjacent to the target takes 1d8 lightning damage.
(From Dragon 364)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

- For the at-will power the bonus from Raging Storm doesn't apply because the keyword lightning is missing (even though it's lightning damage)

Correct. Odd, but correct.

- For the daily, the initial target gets the regular weapon damage from the attack (including Eladrin Soldier), plus the 1d8 extra lightning damage from the daily and also the +1 bonus from Raging Storm. The adjacent creatures receive each 1d8+1 damage (includes the Raging Storm bonus).

The bonus from Raging Storm won't stack with Eladrin Soldier.

- I can apply the Daily Power after I know I hit the target.

Not only can you, you have to. :)
 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orcus Porkus
- For the at-will power the bonus from Raging Storm doesn't apply because the keyword lightning is missing (even though it's lightning damage)

Correct. Odd, but correct.

I can only assume they didn't want to overpower it this way, because that extended reach is already awesome.
 

The bonus from Raging Storm won't stack with Eladrin Soldier.

He's adding the Eladrin soldier bonus to the damage roll from the initial hit.
He's adding the Raging Storm bonus to the damage roll from the daily power (which appears to be seperate from the hit).

I think they both apply, because it's two different powers doing two different damage rolls.
 

He's adding the Eladrin soldier bonus to the damage roll from the initial hit.
He's adding the Raging Storm bonus to the damage roll from the daily power (which appears to be seperate from the hit).

I think they both apply, because it's two different powers doing two different damage rolls.

Yeah. I hit with the spear, causing the spear damage +2 from Eladrin, and then roll 1d8 lightning damage, adding the +1 from Raging Storm.
It wouldn't make sense otherwise anyway, because why would the adjacent creatures suffer the extra damage but the poor fellow who got struck first not.
 

I can only assume they didn't want to overpower it this way, because that extended reach is already awesome.

Given that every other magic weapon that switches attack damage type has the keyword for that damage type, I'm inclined to say it's more likely that the weapon stat block needs errata giving the at-will power the lightning keyword.
 

Given that every other magic weapon that switches attack damage type has the keyword for that damage type, I'm inclined to say it's more likely that the weapon stat block needs errata giving the at-will power the lightning keyword.

If that's the case, the Eladrin +2 bonus wouldn't stack with the +1 from Raging Storm when I use the at-will from the weapon?

Another question: The daily says:
Use this power when you hit with the weapon. Push the target 2 squares, and the target and each creature adjacent to the target takes 1d8 lightning damage.
Does that mean I first push the target (up to) 2 squares, and THEN apply the lightning damage? This makes a big difference since the adjacent creatures can be further away from where I originally hit the target...
 
Last edited:

If that's the case, the Eladrin +2 bonus wouldn't stack with the +1 from Raging Storm when I use the at-will from the weapon?

Correct. They're both feat bonuses to the damage roll.

Another question: The daily says:
Does that mean I first push the target (up to) 2 squares, and THEN apply the lightning damage? This makes a big difference since the adjacent creatures can be further away from where I originally hit the target...

I'm inclined to say yes, the push is resolved before the damage.
 

Correct. They're both feat bonuses to the damage roll.
So this means the keyword feats like Raging Storm are basically meant for wizards or any other classes that doesn't use weapons to specialize in. They have a nice feat here which allows them to increase the damage from their favorite damage type, just like a fighter invests in weapon focus. Makes sense...
 

Another question: The daily says:
Does that mean I first push the target (up to) 2 squares, and THEN apply the lightning damage? This makes a big difference since the adjacent creatures can be further away from where I originally hit the target...

Push first, then apply damage in this instance. Just remember, you always control how much you actually push, pull, or slide with a power. It can be any number from 0 squares up to the maximum the power allows. In this case, 0, 1, or 2 squares.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top