Shadowdale Besieged

Eryk Valdemar

First Post
NOTE: I recently posted this message in the forums at WotC, but was directed here by some of its members because of the lack in response.

I don't know how many of you were playing Forgotten Realms back in the 2E days (or still are for that matter) but anyone who has read the history section knows of a period of time called "The Avatar Crisis," "The Godswar," or "The Time of Troubles." In 2E this was a trilogy of adventures that follow the heroes as they help find the cryptic Tablets of Fate and return the fallen deities to their former positions in the sky.

I am a DM playing in 3E, and I have been doing so for five years. Recently I heard about this trilogy of 2E adventures and in a rush of excitement, I bought used copies of them all (for about thirty dollars en masse. Ebay. If I had found a store here in tiny Peoria, IL, then I could have gotten them cheaper. What can I say, I'm lazy.) Anyway, because I consider the 3E rules superior to their predecessors, I'm going to convert all NPCS and such in this trilogy to 3E. It'll be a little bit of work, but overall it should come with a huge payoff. To make it work, I'm taking the players back in time (as mentioned, this trilogy is in the history. About twenty years in the history actually.) That is the players, mind you, not the PCs. I'm not a big fan of time travel campaigns, I've had bad experiences. Anyway, considering this is all backstory for my main issue, I'll continue. Any tips on this trilogy whatsoever (from any who have run it, or just general tips) would be appreciated.