+ Log in or register to post
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Thread: Magic Item Saving Throws
Sunday, 12th December, 2004, 09:21 AM #1
Acolyte (Lvl 2)
Magic Item Saving Throws
I know, I must be completely blind, but I can't find any info on magic items making saves in the SRD. So, I was wondering if anyone could tell me where the relevant info could be found.
The exact situation that I'm asking about is in regards to Shatter. How is the saving throw bonus calculated when it is in someone's possession, and how is it calculated when it's just laying on the ground?
Thanks a bunch.
Last edited by Blue Sky; Sunday, 12th December, 2004 at 09:22 AM.
Sunday, 12th December, 2004, 11:25 AM #2
Novice (Lvl 1)
DMG 3.5 - pg 215 - Damaging Magic Items is the main source.
Unattended Items: Use their own saving throw.
Attended Items: Use their saving throw or their wielder's, whichever is better. Exception: Intelligent items use their own Will save even while attended (per the FAQ I seem to recall).
Magic Item saving throws are calculated at 2 + CL/2. The saving throw is used for all three types.
* post roll count doesn't match database
Sunday, 12th December, 2004, 12:08 PM #3
I've just looked up the reference posted and found a slight difference.
A magic item doesn't need to make a saving throw unless it's unattended, specifically targeted by the effect, or it's wielder rolls a natural 1 on his save.
In all of those cases the items saving throw is half caster level of the creator +2.
Monday, 13th December, 2004, 12:45 AM #4
Novice (Lvl 1)
Well, it wasn't an exact quote - I was paraphrasing what I thought were relevant bits.
Since Blue Sky said he wanted to know what happens when a magic item is targeted by a Shatter spell when held or unattended, I gave him the two answers - since in this case the magic item was specifically targeted by the spell.
The saving throw calculation I gave is correct: 2+ CL/2 would be my shorthand for 2 plus one-half the Caster Level. I should have noted it was the Caster Level of the magic item involved.
The only thing I'm not 100% sure on, is that intelligent items use their own Will save even while attended. I think it was in the FAQ, but I'm not certain. Maybe a Sage Advice.
By Coolplayer in forum Older D&D Editions (4E, 3.x, 2E, 1E, OD&D), D&D Variants, and OSR GamingReplies: 2Last Post: Saturday, 9th January, 2010, 10:45 PM
By Olaf the Stout in forum Older D&D Editions (4E, 3.x, 2E, 1E, OD&D), D&D Variants, and OSR GamingReplies: 8Last Post: Friday, 24th November, 2006, 12:13 PM
By Olaf the Stout in forum Older D&D Editions (4E, 3.x, 2E, 1E, OD&D), D&D Variants, and OSR GamingReplies: 12Last Post: Tuesday, 6th June, 2006, 06:21 AM
By Kerrick in forum Older D&D Editions (4E, 3.x, 2E, 1E, OD&D), D&D Variants, and OSR GamingReplies: 7Last Post: Wednesday, 6th August, 2003, 10:38 AM
By jgbrowning in forum Older D&D Editions (4E, 3.x, 2E, 1E, OD&D), D&D Variants, and OSR GamingReplies: 0Last Post: Thursday, 4th July, 2002, 09:28 PM