OGL and translation

Sid

First Post
Hello
First sorry for my english. I read much better then write.

I have one question abount OGL and translation of OGL's terms:
Oficiall publisher translated and publish the core books. Can I use the OGL stuff with that translation?
For example: In this translation "Smart Hero" become "Madrala". Can I use the term "Madrala"?

HalWhitewyrm

First Post
I am not a lawyer.

If I recall correctly, you can use open gaming content in any language, but the OGL MUST be in English for it to be legal. If you want to include a translation in your language, I believe that is allowed, but the OGL that binds and rules the product must be in English.

Perhaps others with more knowledge on the matter will add their thoughts as well.

Sid

First Post
OK, i write it not clear.
I know that the OGLicence must be in English,
My question is abount open game content (fe. from SRD).
I know that i can use it as is (in English). But can I use the translation (from official corebook) of fe. skils, feats, class names?
This way it will be compatybile with "national" core books. But what about translation copyrights?

DragonSword

First Post
Sid said:
I know that i can use it as is (in English). But can I use the translation (from official corebook) of fe. skils, feats, class names?
This way it will be compatybile with "national" core books. But what about translation copyrights?
I'm not a lawyer, but I guess what you're saying is okay. You can use a translation of the SRD (Core rules) as long as you include an English OGL.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but if the only OGC you were allowed to use was in English, referring to English game mechanics, then you wouldn't be able to have OGC in languages other than English, which is stupid.

Mark

CreativeMountainGames.com
Sid said: