Mage the Ascension Question

AOS

First Post
Has anyone had any experience of this game?

It's published by White Wolf, although the core book is out of print :( and the rest of the books seem to be following the same way. It is available on ebay (surprise)

I see that GURPS also have a version of it as well. Will they differ much?

Thanks in advance.

HeapThaumaturgist

First Post
Mage is probably my favorite White Wolf game. And, really, the only one I'd like to play again. :)

The system is interesting, but really I think it was the background and setting information that was the biggest draw. Not perfectly original, but dark enough and creative enough that I ran an online game for over a year.

I've no experience with the GURPS version, but if it's the same setting information presented with GURPS rules then I'd say the difference would be purely in the rules. WW's core system was flexible enough and the magic was similarly free-form that I imagine GURPS could replicate it: But it would definately have the GURPS feel. Mage was a World Of Darkness product and had the WoD rules feel to it.

--fje

WayneLigon

Adventurer
AOS said:

It's published by White Wolf, although the core book is out of print :( and the rest of the books seem to be following the same way. It is available on ebay (surprise)

Thanks in advance.

I own it, but I've never had the courage to try and run it :)
There are at least two editions of the game; the Second Ed is by far the most understandable. There is a Revised version as well, though what mechanics were changed I could not tell you. There were some changes to the backstory, the metaplot, and I think some of the various factions.

GURPS does indeed have a version of this, which I'm pretty sure uses Mage First Ed ideas. It's White Wolf's most complex and least understandable magic system done in GURPS terms. Make of that what you will :) The setting is virtually identical. The system is totally different.

AOS

First Post