What have i missed about Greenbound Summoning? - Page 5
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 41 to 48 of 48
  1. #41
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In the 3rd level of the 5th demiplane of the Abyss on Eternal Damnation Drive
    Posts
    212
    This feat reminds me of our parties former rogue/fighter with manyshot. Gads- he did 88 damage in a round once at 4th level... No fun to play when he was around, and I imagine that its no fun to play with this feat as a PC feat, unless It had augment summoning as a prereq. and stated that it increased the casting time, and diddn't stack with augment summoning. Then I'd viably accept it.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    A man, a plan, a canal: Panama
    Posts
    3,672
    The caster level for those spell-like abilities is equal to the character level of the creature summoned. Assuming that monster HD count for character level, can a summoned 3 HD animal (or whatever you summon) actually use Wall of Thorns as a spell-like ability, considering that normally the minimum caster level for the spell Wall of Thorns is 9th?

    But yeah, this thing seems to have BBEG Druid written all over it, with a side order of "yes, your druid can learn this feat, but only after defeating the enemy druid and learning where he had unearthed this forgotten knowledge, then going there and making an adventure out of learning it yourself."

  3. #43
    Quote Originally Posted by moritheil
    Now I'm curious. Does this mean that you have to use a higher level SNA spell to summon a Greenbound, perhaps? That would make it slightly less broken.
    Not as written. The SNA spell makes no explicit reference to CR. We just mention CR because it is approximately correct than SNA n summons a CR n critter. There are obvious variances but it is a decent starting point for discussions of relative power level of summoned creatures.

  4. #44
    Quote Originally Posted by Ridley's Cohort
    Not as written. The SNA spell makes no explicit reference to CR. We just mention CR because it is approximately correct than SNA n summons a CR n critter. There are obvious variances but it is a decent starting point for discussions of relative power level of summoned creatures.
    I was afraid of that. Still, that provides handy material for a houserule. Although the man issue seems to be the wall of thorns at low levels rather than any other aspect of it.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    On a Persian carpet on a certain Island in the South Pacific....
    Posts
    3,888
    Taking the feat, The monster's should be added to the list of summonable monsters at the appropriate CR level. This then turns the overpowered feat to one that is underpowered, and mostly for favour. (IMNSHO).

    To do otherwise is rather strange. As a flavour feat, it is more interesting for DM's to use, for a special villian or organisation.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Middletown, NJ
    Posts
    260

    Omission?

    The Greenbound Summoning was written by yours truly as a metamagic feat with the Summon Nature's Ally spell using a spell slot 2 levels higher. That fact appears to have been omitted from the print version.

    - Ed Bonny

  7. #47
    Quote Originally Posted by edbonny
    The Greenbound Summoning was written by yours truly as a metamagic feat with the Summon Nature's Ally spell using a spell slot 2 levels higher. That fact appears to have been omitted from the print version.

    - Ed Bonny
    Aha, a higher level SNA is needed after all. That was the interpretation I was hoping was correct. Neat, thanks!

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    25,747
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Awkward
    The caster level for those spell-like abilities is equal to the character level of the creature summoned. Assuming that monster HD count for character level, can a summoned 3 HD animal (or whatever you summon) actually use Wall of Thorns as a spell-like ability, considering that normally the minimum caster level for the spell Wall of Thorns is 9th?
    Yes, it can.

    From the Monster Manual:
    For creatures with spell-like abilities, a designated caster level defines how difficult it is to dispel their spell-like effects and to define any level-dependent variables (such as range and duration) the abilities might have. The creature’s caster level never affects which spell-like abilities the creature has; sometimes the given caster level is lower than the level a spellcasting character would need to cast the spell of the same name. If no caster level is specified, the caster level is equal to the creature’s Hit Dice. The saving throw (if any) against a spell-like ability is 10 + the level of the spell the ability resembles or duplicates + the creature’s Cha modifier.

    -Hyp.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Similar Threads

  1. Is there anything I've missed out?
    By Morrus in forum *Pathfinder, Starfinder, Older D&D Editions (4E, 3.x, 2E, 1E, OD&D), D&D Variants, OSR
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: Wednesday, 29th August, 2007, 06:19 AM
  2. Greenbound Summoning
    By craftyrat in forum *Pathfinder, Starfinder, Older D&D Editions (4E, 3.x, 2E, 1E, OD&D), D&D Variants, OSR
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Thursday, 14th April, 2005, 06:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •