Dumb Newbie's dumb question

Vradna

First Post
Firstly, apologies if this thread is in the wrong area. Oh, and to my newbieness regarding D20, OGL and SRD. I am after an answer to a -hopefully- general question about D20:

If something doesn't appear in the SRD, I can't use it in my published work, right?

For example, because the 'Samurai' character class from Oriental Adventures doesn't appear in the SRD, I cannot use it in any D20 book I care to write and publish. True or False? I am just curious how this all works: It's been a long time between gaming sessions.

JimAde

First Post
Ok, I'll be the first to say it:

"I am not a lawyer"

:)

With that out of the way: You are right. If you want to publish something you can only use Open Game Content (the SRD and anything else declared to be Open Game Content from WotC or other publishers).

There is another issue, though: You have a lot of freedom to use Open Content if your product is simply an OGL (Open Game License) product. If you actually want to use the "d20" name and logo, there are a whole bunch of other issues, including the fact that WotC can just declare they don't like your content and pull the logo.

If you are just publishing something on a web site for free distribution, you should be fine as long as you only use Open Content and include a proper copy of the Open Game License. If you are planning to publish anything for sale, I strongly suggest you hire a lawyer to make sure you're doing everything right.

Vradna

First Post
If you actually want to use the "d20" name and logo, there are a whole bunch of other issues, including the fact that WotC can just declare they don't like your content and pull the logo.

Thanks for your help. In my haste, I didn't see the "Do's and Don'ts of D20 Publishing" over at WoTC

Thanks again,

Henry

Autoexreginated