Major Lag with MMORPGS - COH

mrtauntaun

First Post
Hey Guys. Im new to MMORPGs, COH is the first one I've paid for (other than free trials, I mean). They just put a new patch through, and now I get intollerable lag (disconnected from map server) and often get booted from the server. I think im getting packet loss to the server, but im unsure.
Are there any general troubleshooting tips for MMORPGs I should try? I did the usual, defrag, nothing running in background, etc.

Ghostwind

First Post
I've been having the same issues but the last time it happened, it took about a week and then things were back to normal. The other thing to factor in is that the servers are probably under a larger load now that everyone is on summer break.

SweeneyTodd

First Post
City of Villians, in particular, is just hosed up since the last patch (lag, loading times through the roof, crashes, etc.) COH doesn't seem to be having quite as many problems, but they're likely from the same cause.

I hate to say it, but you're probably best just not playing for a week or two in hopes that they hotfix it. I tried doing all matter of things to optimize my machine, and it's still running far far worse than it was the week before the I7 patch.

Cthulhudrew

First Post
The lag problems with CoV/CoH are defniitely due to the new issue that was just released. They even released a patch for the issue that they had to remove since it caused all of the servers to go offline most of a day this past weekend.

I suspect part of the problem is also due to high user interaction- I think a lot of people who hadn't played in a while logged back in to play the new issue.

It should get sorted out within a week or so. I've actually been impressed by how little lag there generally is with CoH/CoV.

Marius Delphus

Adventurer
mrtauntaun said:
Are there any general troubleshooting tips for MMORPGs I should try? I did the usual, defrag, nothing running in background, etc.