New Double Scimitar Feats




+ Log in or register to post
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1

    New Double Scimitar Feats

    Double Scimitar Finesse [General, Fighter]
    Prereqs: BAB+4, WF(Double scimitar), WS (double scimitar) or Bladebearer of the Valenar, TWF, Dex 15
    Benefits: You may add your dex modifier instead of your STR modifier to your attacks with a double scimitar.
    Valenar Bladestorm (General, Fighter)
    Prereqs: BAB +1O, WF (double scimitar), WS (double scimitar) or Bladebearer of the Valenar, TWF, ITWF, IC (double scimitar), Dex 19
    Benefit: On a critical hit with a double scimitar, you may make another attack at the same bonus.see post 8
    Last edited by EternalSword; Sunday, 6th August, 2006 at 09:21 PM. Reason: revisions further down thread

 

  • #2
    Supressive Overlord
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    Bront's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Aurora, IL
    Posts
    22,818

    Ignore Bront
    Initial Reaction:
    The first one isn't bad, but a Scimitar isn't a finesse weapon either, so I'd be inclined to say no.

    Second Feat, What is IC? Improved Critical? While I think it's an interesting idea, with the high threat range, it seems almost abusive.

    For both, I don't like requiring either Bladebearer or Weapon Specialization. At that point you're limiting it to Fighters or Valenar Elves, and there's realy no reason to.

  • #3
    Well, the idea came after I noticed how high the dex requirements get for ITWF and its derivitives and thought it was kind of odd that attacks were still strength-based. Also, there is precident for finessing scimitars. The dervish from CW gets that at first level.

    Would the second one be better if it was 1/round?

    Ok, i'll pull the WS/Bladebearer requirement
    Last edited by EternalSword; Sunday, 6th August, 2006 at 07:23 PM.

  • #4

    revisions

    Double Scimitar Finesse [General, Fighter]
    Prereqs: BAB+4, WF(Double scimitar), TWF, Dex 15
    Benefits: You may add your dex modifier instead of your STR modifier to your attacks with a double scimitar.
    Valenar Bladestorm (General, Fighter)
    Prereqs: BAB +1O, WF (double scimitar), TWF, ITWF, IC (double scimitar), Dex 19
    Benefit: Once a round, on a critical hit with a double scimitar, you may make another attack at the same bonus as the critical hit.

  • #5
    I don't really see the need for the first feat at all. I found the most effective way to maximize damage w/ my TWF double-scimitar user was scout8/fighter1/dervish4. With just standard feats my 13th level character often does 100 hp damage/round. Unfortunately Its absolutely useless against creatures not subject to criticsl hits and profoundly useless when said creatures also have damage reduction (elementals). Any thing else is pretty much mince-meat. That second feat would be nice, but if usable more than 1/round it would get out of hand very quickly. I've just had too many rounds where I dropped 4 crit bombs successfully.

  • #6
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    Rystil Arden's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, MA
    Posts
    38,388

    Ignore Rystil Arden
    The second feat is not really fair even when limited to once a round--on most rounds it is going to trigger (16% chance not to trigger with 5 attacks, which you're certainly going to have by the time you have this feat) so it is basically like gaining an extra attack at the price of a feat, which is overpowered IMO (not to mention that it gives the extra attack to you during an attack sequence when you've already gained a big advantage by critting).

    How about this: After every successful confirmation for a critical hit with your primary head of the double-scimitar, you may choose to forgo the critical and just do regular damage in order to make an attack with the secondary head. This ability is *very* useful against enemies immune to crits.
    Last edited by Rystil Arden; Sunday, 6th August, 2006 at 07:59 PM.

  • #7
    That sounds good, Rystil.

    Dontpunkme, I was refering to attack rolls, not damage, and GTWF requires 19 dex, so the first does help.

  • #8

    Revisions

    Double Scimitar Finesse [General, Fighter]
    Prereqs: BAB+4, WF(Double scimitar), TWF, Dex 15
    Benefits: You may add your dex modifier instead of your STR modifier to your attacks with a double scimitar.

    Valenar Bladestorm (General, Fighter)
    Prereqs: BAB +1O, WF (double scimitar), TWF, ITWF, IC (double scimitar), Dex 19
    Benefit: Whenever you confirm a critical with a double scimitar, you may choose to forgo the extra damage and make an additional attack with the opposite head.

  • #9
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    Rystil Arden's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, MA
    Posts
    38,388

    Ignore Rystil Arden
    That's not quite what I proposed--I limited it to crits with the main head giving off-head attacks for a few reasons, including disallowing an infinite chain of hits and making the trade-off less of a no-brainer (trading crit damage on the off-hand for an on-hand attack is a no-brainer).

  • #10

    Revised again

    Double Scimitar Finesse [General, Fighter]
    Prereqs: BAB+4, WF(Double scimitar), TWF, Dex 15
    Benefits: You may add your dex modifier instead of your STR modifier to your attacks with a double scimitar.

    Valenar Bladestorm (General, Fighter)
    Prereqs: BAB +1O, WF (double scimitar), TWF, ITWF, IC (double scimitar), Dex 19
    Benefit: Whenever you confirm a critical with the main head of a double scimitar, you may choose to forgo the extra damage and make an additional attack with the off-hand head.

    Judges, your thoughts/votes?

  • + Log in or register to post
    Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Double Scimitar - why so poor?
      By hvg3akaek in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: Thursday, 16th July, 2009, 01:43 AM
    2. New feats for double weapons
      By JiCi in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: Saturday, 3rd May, 2008, 01:01 PM
    3. Valenar Elf Druid + Double Scimitar
      By vulcan_idic in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: Thursday, 17th August, 2006, 03:50 PM
    4. Double bladed Scimitar?
      By RigaMortus in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: Saturday, 26th February, 2005, 11:34 AM
    5. Replies: 9
      Last Post: Thursday, 9th October, 2003, 08:33 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •