What's on your mind?
+ Log in or register to post
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Tuesday, 15th August, 2006, 11:51 PM #1
Magsman (Lvl 14)
- Join Date
- Apr 2003
- Sydney Australia
- Read 0 Reviews
- Blog Entries
ø Ignore Herremann the Wise
Sneak Attack and the Master Thrower Prestige Class - Does it Work?
I have a player looking at taking the Master Thrower prestige class from Complete Warrior and was wondering upon which special attacks the character's sneak attack would work?
Palm Shot: When using little thrown weapons (dagger, shuriken, darts etc.), a master thrower may throw two of each weapon with a single attack roll. Damage for each weapon is resolved separately, but the master thrower does not applay her strength bonus to either damage roll.
Does the sneak attack damage apply to both damage rolls or just one of them (like manyshot)?
Doubletoss: A master thrower with this ability may, as a standard action, throw two weapons at one or two targets within 30 ft. The character may apply her full strength bonus to each weapon (instead of one-half her strength bonus for the off-hand weapon). The normal penalties for fighting with two weapons apply.
Does the sneak attack damage apply to both damage rolls or just one of them?
Herremann the WiseImagination is a quality given a man to compensate him for what he is not,
and a sense of humor was provided to console him for what he is.
He who is certain he knows the ending of things when he is only beginning them is either extremely wise or extremely foolish; no matter which is true, he is certainly an unhappy man, for he has put a knife in the heart of wonder.
- EN World
- has no influence
- on advertisings
- that are displayed by
- Google Adsense
Tuesday, 15th August, 2006, 11:55 PM #2
Acolyte (Lvl 2)
In all cases, SA applies (assuming you meet the conditions.)
Manyshot always struck me as a goofy ruling, but I guess the idea is that you can only concentrate on the exact placement of one of the arrows. In any case, sneak attack is not strength bonus, and I don't see anything in the text that invalidates sneak attack.
Wednesday, 16th August, 2006, 01:39 AM #3
Waghalter (Lvl 7)
I would say each palm shot counts as a volley attack and only gets one se of sneak damage since it only gets a single attack roll like many shot
Doubletoss is more like a traditional attack with two attack rolls so a sneak on each
Wednesday, 16th August, 2006, 05:11 AM #4
Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)
- Join Date
- Jul 2005
- Canberra, Australia
- Read 0 Reviews
ø Ignore Dross
This is how i'd go/rule as well.Originally Posted by Prism
Scrag: I saved his life.
Leanna: How so?
Scrag: I stopped hitting him.
Scrag, ½-orc barbarian from Great Worm Tribe, the High Forrest
Wednesday, 16th August, 2006, 05:25 AM #5
Novice (Lvl 1)
The CW errata indicates that palm throw is a volley attack and only one instance of precision-based damage applies to the attack roll. Bummer, too.
Wednesday, 16th August, 2006, 07:54 AM #6
At least you can use Palm Throw with Shot on the Run.
J from Three Haligonians
Its been six years since I've sailed away,
And I just made Halifax yesterday...