How do I get more roleplaying out of my players?

Mitchbones

First Post
My group and I have been playing for about 5 months now, we just started a new campaign (Savage Tide AP). I told them that it will include a lot more roleplaying than the previous one. I gave them some background information on the city and the adventure and asked them to provide me with a short backstory to work with.

I didn't get any backstorys, even after I asked them individually the usual questions to get them to think about their character (What does he Fear? Why is he doing this? etc). During the game I only have one player who Roleplays and is usually rewarded a lot for it (not too much). I encouraged everyone else, saying that I would even give them 300xp for a 1/2 page - full page bio. The only person they roleplay with is Lady Vanderborien (npc) and that is very minor. They say they think Roleplaying is just as fun as combat (except one person) but they always get Players-Block (writers block for players haha) when it comes for them to do anyting

Any suggestions to help get them to Roleplay?

Dykstrav

Adventurer
Unfortunately, there's only so much you can do to get your players to play a certain way. I've gamed with many a player that stare at their dice in abject boredom if they aren't killing things... XP awards for roleplaying tend to create the idea that the DM isn't validating how they want to play the game.

That's probably the biggest thing I hated about the last game I DMed. Only one player did a background (and his characters kept getting killed off), they wouldn't even stay in town long enough to get their next hook. It was always, "we rest long enough to heal and prepare spells and strike out across country looking for fights or new dungeons."

I don't have a solution for you, but I'd certainly like to hear about other people's experiences.

LogicsFate

First Post
Hmm, a toughy.

Get new players? kidding! kidding!