Prep work? What stinking prep work?

twofalls

DM Beadle
I've been wondering... how many other folks find that they are doing less and less prep work for game sessions these days? I've been running D&D games for three decades now, and I've noticed a trend in myself to do less work preparing for a night of gaming as those years grow longer. Now, I find that I read a book, look over an adventure, scan a map and that is my prep work for the evening of gaming.

Another trend I've discovered in myself is a tendency to completely ignore the rules but leave my players feeling like I am following them very closely. I know the rules (we still play 3.0) very well, and most of the time (nearly all the time) I can't be bothered with them. The monsters I use are either old favorites I know well, or more often concoctions off the top of my head to fit the moment. I write down the damage my players do in combat like I am keeping careful track to see how close they are getting to the monster's death threshold, but in reality I am just narrating the story and will kill it off when it is the most exciting to do so. I use the rules when the players need to interact with them, like grappling... how many magic missiles a caster can toss, etc. So I petty much don't ever prep monsters either.

I run a group of 9 players, some who have been gaming with me for 30 years, some who have been with me for about 3 years (the avg is about 8 years of playing with me) and know they are having fun. I asked one of my players after last session if it was obvious that I "often" (read: always) toss out the rulebook when its convenient and he was genuinely surprised to find out that I do that. I invent spells on the fly, I make rules calls (educated calls of course) as needed, and pretty much just invent the game as I go mostly with themes and ideas I dreamed up either in reaction to the players or sometimes ideas I thought about the week before the game.