help - creating maps / grids

Gregor

First Post
Hey all,

I am trying to figure out how to create maps with a grid that can be printed out and used as the map for table-top play (i.e. print out maps with a 1-inch grid overlay). The idea is for me to design maps on my PC and then use the printed map as our dungeon (im really tired of drawing and erasing on my battlemap.

I am a total noob when it comes to photoshop and other graphics programs, and I dont really know how to measure the grid on my computer so that it translates into a 1-inch scale when it prints out.

This may seem like a really simple question to some of you, so any help would be appreciated.

Any suggestions?

Edheldur

First Post
Gregor said:
This may seem like a really simple question to some of you, so any help would be appreciated.

Any suggestions?
Considering that I am in that same situation, I've used Dundjinni extensively. There are more skilled people here that use Photoshop or something like that, and I'm sure they'll also offer some advice about it.

The Hound

Explorer
Let me offer this low tech solution that I used to use back in the dark ages:

1) Decide on a scale - figure out what distance on the map represents 1 foot, 1 meter, 1 mile, whatever you want a square or nex on the grid to be, mark that distance on the edge of the map.

2) Get some hex grid or square grid graph paper. You need graph paper with black lines, instead of the blue lines that they usually have, which don't copy as well. If you can find grids online or something that draws them, you can print them out from your computer instead.