+ Log in or register to post
Results 1 to 10 of 62
Thread: Sneak Attack + Critical Hit?
Monday, 9th June, 2008, 12:38 AM #1
Acolyte (Lvl 2)
Sneak Attack + Critical Hit?
When you score a critical hit on a sneak attack do you get max damage on the sneak attack roll?This level can't be all bad.
- EN World
- has no influence
- on advertisings
- that are displayed by
- Google Adsense
Monday, 9th June, 2008, 02:12 AM #2
Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)
I would have to double check, but my understanding is that a Rogue Sneak Attack + Critical hit will result in Max Weapon Dmg + 2d6.
However, upon review, that understanding appears to have been incorrect. See following posts, but the short answer is that rolling a 20 / crit is no different than hitting on an attack roll of 14 and having all your damage dice come up the maximum.
Last edited by Lord Zardoz; Monday, 9th June, 2008 at 05:30 AM.
Monday, 9th June, 2008, 02:16 AM #3
Gallant (Lvl 3)
I believe this is correct, all dice other than the weapon damage are rolled as normal. Kinda sucks for dagger wielders as its not much of a bump unless you have some power that is triggering off the crit.Originally Posted by Lord Zardoz
Whatever you read in my post, I actually do like 4e
All my questions are for 4e unless otherwise stated.
"A true slacker needs no excuse to slack" - Evan G.
Monday, 9th June, 2008, 02:32 AM #4
Nothing points towards sneak attack not being maximized by a crit. In fact, I actually read (but can't seem to find again) a custserv answer about it and they confirmed that they only dice you ever roll on a crit are those dice that are labeled as extra damage on crits.
Monday, 9th June, 2008, 02:38 AM #5
Acolyte (Lvl 2)
"Rather than roll damage, determine the maximum damage you can roll with your attack. This is your critical damage."
In a 3e mentality, I want to say sneak attacks aren't maximized, but the text implies that it's the maximum for the "Attack" not the weapon. FWIW, the next paragraph specifically mentions that extra damage from high crit weapons and magical properties is not maximized. Sneak attack is not mentioned.
The entry for sneak attack makes no mention of critical hits on Pg. 117, and the index only lists two places for critical hits. The other location (pg 276) is far less specific, and doesn't mention extra damage at all.
I think it looks pretty clear that SA is maximized. (And the Warlock's curse and the Ranger's quarry, at that.)
I left my heart in the City of Brass.
Monday, 9th June, 2008, 02:39 AM #6
Actually, when you score a crit, all damage dice that you don't get specifically because you got a crit is maximized. This has been stated by someone at wizards, can't remember the exact quote. So for example, a ranger critting his quarry with a greataxe (on a basic attack), would do 18+Str+1d12.
And once again, Probability proves itself willing to sneak into a back alley and service Drama as would a copper-piece harlot.
Monday, 9th June, 2008, 03:20 AM #7
Novice (Lvl 1)
Maximillian is correct. Anything (high crit weapon, magic weapons, etc...) that add extra damage dice on a crit ONLY are not maximized. p.278 in the PHB.
A sneak attack, warlocks curse, and hunter's quarry add extra damage normally and ARE maxed.
Monday, 9th June, 2008, 03:46 AM #8
Novice (Lvl 1)
Seems to me only weapon damage is maxed and that precision based damage (high crit, SA, magic, etc) are added after. maxing SA damage realy breaks rogue damage output. then again, with the need to Combat Advantage and how hard it is to get a crit in this edition, it doesnt really bother me either way.
Monday, 9th June, 2008, 03:57 AM #9
Novice (Lvl 1)
"Rather than roll damage, determine the maximum damage you can roll with your attack."
Things like sneak attack and hunter's quarry are added to the attack, rather than being rolled for the attack, so shouldn't be maxed.
Another clue is in the sneak attack excerpt itself.
"You decide whether to apply the extra damage after making the damage roll." [bolding mine]
After you've maximized your critical damage, you then roll sneak attack damage.
Monday, 9th June, 2008, 04:00 AM #10
Magsman (Lvl 14)
Yeah that how I read it.
In fact my 6yr old cousin only uses his SA after a crit. And since he is a ranger main class, he just waits for one of the twin strikes to crit. And it always does.
Fighter cleaves. Ranger flanks and uses twin strike.
over and over.
My beard is hairy.
By Felon in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & DiscussionReplies: 17Last Post: Sunday, 21st October, 2012, 12:21 PM
By Caragaran in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & DiscussionReplies: 4Last Post: Monday, 17th May, 2010, 03:46 PM
By LostInTheMists in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & DiscussionReplies: 17Last Post: Sunday, 14th December, 2008, 03:15 AM
By godfear in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & DiscussionReplies: 9Last Post: Saturday, 7th June, 2008, 03:46 AM
By mcgeedis in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & DiscussionReplies: 11Last Post: Tuesday, 13th February, 2007, 11:09 PM