+ Log in or register to post
Results 21 to 30 of 62
Thread: Sneak Attack + Critical Hit?
Tuesday, 24th June, 2008, 06:26 AM #21
Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)
Ya, i used to think it was only weapon damage that got maxed, but upon reading the rules under critting it seemed all damage that was not extra damage from the crit gets maxxed. This includes sneak attacks, quarries and curses OH MY!!5e FTW ! - "A true slacker needs no excuse to slack" - Evan G.
- EN World
- has no influence
- on adverts that
- are displayed by
- Google Adsense
Tuesday, 24th June, 2008, 07:37 AM #22
To put it in perspective, the difference between average damage and crit damage for HQ/SA/Curse is pretty small. 2.5 to 5.5 without feats.
Tuesday, 24th June, 2008, 07:51 AM #23
Thaumaturgist (Lvl 9)
For the dagger rogue 1d4+4+2d6 critical is 8+2d6 ~ 15 or if done correctly 20, 33% more damage... If you have taken the backstabber feat it goes from 16 to 22, an increase of 37.5%
Tuesday, 24th June, 2008, 10:05 AM #24
On page PHB 278, it says:
Maximum Damage: Rather than roll damage, determine the maximum damage you can roll with your attack.
And PHB 117:
[...] You decide whether to apply the extra damage after making the damage roll.
So the sneak attack getting the crit damage seems very iffy to me...
They should have made it more clear by putting an example with an ability after the critical hit entry.
Tuesday, 24th June, 2008, 10:08 AM #25
The sneak attack damage is still rolled with the attack. You just roll it at the end of the attack.Originally Posted by ravenwing1234
Tuesday, 24th June, 2008, 10:14 AM #26
Waghalter (Lvl 7)
Though neither TwoSkewers nor Kordeth's reading of it makes any sense, the Assassin's Point description posted by the former seems to decide the issue. If damage from Sneak Attack were normally doubled on a crit, there would be no need to specifically mention that it's doubled when you use Assassin's Point.
(TS seems to be under the mistaken impression that the English language doesn't have an inclusive "or"; Kordeth simply ignores the above point.)
Tuesday, 24th June, 2008, 10:16 AM #27
Yup, you definitely maximize criticals. My level 1 rogue landed a critical sneak attack (backstabber feat, brutal scoundrel, dagger) and managed 28 damage. It slew an enemy elite instantly. Think of it as hitting someone in the jugular.
Tuesday, 24th June, 2008, 10:17 AM #28
Acolyte (Lvl 2)
Tuesday, 24th June, 2008, 10:43 AM #29
Acolyte (Lvl 2)
Well, you may not crit .. therefore, you still get to double your sneak attack damage.Originally Posted by jeffh
Besides, sneak attack damage normally gets maximised on a crit, not doubled.
The Passion of Lovers is for Death
Tuesday, 24th June, 2008, 11:21 AM #30
Novice (Lvl 1)
Why do I get the feeling I'm adding crit with sneak/quarry to my growing list of 'wait until I get a clear, official answer' list (along with stealth, allies and cover, temp hp, etc.)?
Hoping to start a RPG club in Barnstaple, Devon, UK