D&D 4th Edition Sneak Attack + Critical Hit? - Page 3


What's on your mind?

+ Log in or register to post
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 62
  1. #21
    Registered User
    Gallant (Lvl 3)



    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    909
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Otterscrubber
    My communities:

    Ya, i used to think it was only weapon damage that got maxed, but upon reading the rules under critting it seemed all damage that was not extra damage from the crit gets maxxed. This includes sneak attacks, quarries and curses OH MY!!
    Whatever you read in my post, I actually do like 4e

    All my questions are for 4e unless otherwise stated.

    "A true slacker needs no excuse to slack" - Evan G.

 

  • #22
    To put it in perspective, the difference between average damage and crit damage for HQ/SA/Curse is pretty small. 2.5 to 5.5 without feats.

  • #23
    Registered User
    Defender (Lvl 8)



    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Kongsberg
    Posts
    1,729
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Blackbrrd
    For the dagger rogue 1d4+4+2d6 critical is 8+2d6 ~ 15 or if done correctly 20, 33% more damage... If you have taken the backstabber feat it goes from 16 to 22, an increase of 37.5%
    One-page auto calculating 4th edition character sheet
    4e character sheet v3.xls
    4e rogue.xls (example)
    4e fighter.xls(example)

  • #24

    well...

    On page PHB 278, it says:
    Maximum Damage: Rather than roll damage, determine the maximum damage you can roll with your attack.

    And PHB 117:
    Sneak Attack
    [...] You decide whether to apply the extra damage after making the damage roll.

    So the sneak attack getting the crit damage seems very iffy to me...
    They should have made it more clear by putting an example with an ability after the critical hit entry.

  • #25
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    Zurai's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,410
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Zurai
    Quote Originally Posted by ravenwing1234
    On page PHB 278, it says:
    Maximum Damage: Rather than roll damage, determine the maximum damage you can roll with your attack.

    And PHB 117:
    Sneak Attack
    [...] You decide whether to apply the extra damage after making the damage roll.

    So the sneak attack getting the crit damage seems very iffy to me...
    They should have made it more clear by putting an example with an ability after the critical hit entry.
    The sneak attack damage is still rolled with the attack. You just roll it at the end of the attack.

  • #26
    Registered User
    Scout (Lvl 6)

    jeffh's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB
    Posts
    1,323
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore jeffh
    Though neither TwoSkewers nor Kordeth's reading of it makes any sense, the Assassin's Point description posted by the former seems to decide the issue. If damage from Sneak Attack were normally doubled on a crit, there would be no need to specifically mention that it's doubled when you use Assassin's Point.

    (TS seems to be under the mistaken impression that the English language doesn't have an inclusive "or"; Kordeth simply ignores the above point.)
    Jeff Heikkinen

    Now in initial playtesting, the Fantasy Infinity project!

  • #27
    Yup, you definitely maximize criticals. My level 1 rogue landed a critical sneak attack (backstabber feat, brutal scoundrel, dagger) and managed 28 damage. It slew an enemy elite instantly. Think of it as hitting someone in the jugular.

  • #28
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    Oompa's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Schiedam, The Netherlands
    Posts
    693
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Oompa
    So.. added dice because of magic weapons, high crit and implements, dont get maximized.. and sneak attack does get maximized..

  • #29
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    Danceofmasks's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,350
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Danceofmasks
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffh
    Though neither TwoSkewers nor Kordeth's reading of it makes any sense, the Assassin's Point description posted by the former seems to decide the issue. If damage from Sneak Attack were normally doubled on a crit, there would be no need to specifically mention that it's doubled when you use Assassin's Point.
    Well, you may not crit .. therefore, you still get to double your sneak attack damage.
    Besides, sneak attack damage normally gets maximised on a crit, not doubled.
    The Passion of Lovers is for Death

  • #30
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)

    pogminky's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK, Devon
    Posts
    196
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore pogminky
    *sigh*
    Why do I get the feeling I'm adding crit with sneak/quarry to my growing list of 'wait until I get a clear, official answer' list (along with stealth, allies and cover, temp hp, etc.)?
    Hoping to start a RPG club in Barnstaple, Devon, UK

  • + Log in or register to post
    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Sneak Attack Damage and Critical Hits
      By Felon in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 17
      Last Post: Sunday, 21st October, 2012, 01:21 PM
    2. Infernal sneak attack and whirl wind sneak attack
      By Caragaran in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: Monday, 17th May, 2010, 04:46 PM
    3. Critical Hit with Sneak Attack / Hunter's Quarry
      By LostInTheMists in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 17
      Last Post: Sunday, 14th December, 2008, 04:15 AM
    4. Critical Hit + Sneak Attack?
      By godfear in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: Saturday, 7th June, 2008, 04:46 AM
    5. Include sneak attack w/ Critical?
      By mcgeedis in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 11
      Last Post: Wednesday, 14th February, 2007, 12:09 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •