Making hex maps with the GIMP

The Goblin King

First Post
I got the idea from http://inkwellideas.com/?page_id=9

I am still learning the GIMP so my method may not be the best way to do things.

First, download and install the GIMP. Its a free open source image manipulation program.
http://gimp-win.sourceforge.net/stable.html

Next, install the hex brushes. They are in a zip file attached. They should go in
\Program Files\GIMP-2.0\share\gimp\2.0\brushes

Go File -> Open to open up a map. I've included some attached.

One important thing to remember is always be aware of what layer you are working on. Push Ctrl-L to bring up the Layer dialog and click on the Terrain layer if its not already selected.

Now you want to make sure the grid is set. Click Image -> Configure Grid and make sure it is set to Width 34, Height 19. If not click the chain under the boxes and change the settings. Click Okay then click View -> Snap To Grid

click the pencil tool and click the black dot below it to select the brush you want. start painting!

when done go:
File -> Save As
change file extension to .png
select Merge Visible Layers
click Export
click save

Attachments

• hex brushes.rar
    24.1 KB · Views: 2,093
  • map files.rar
    1.3 MB · Views: 1,758

garyh

First Post
Thanks for posting this, Goblin King! This is very cool and very user friendly. I was able to start making maps very quickly. And while I like fantasy novel style maps, there's something very old school D&D about making world maps in hexes that really appeals to me. This is perfect for that.

garyh

First Post