Is switching hands a free action?




+ Log in or register to post
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43
  1. #1
    Community Supporter
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    Yair's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    2,364
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    ° Ignore Yair

    Is switching hands a free action?

    I'm thinking of ruling that switching hands (moving a small object from one hand to the other) is a Free Action. This is risky, however, so I want your advice.

    The item in question is a dagger. The idea is that by holding two daggers, you can throw the first and later draw the one in your off-hand as a free-action, instead of the minor-action it takes to draw it from the scabbard. If you're wondering why the character doesn't just throw the dagger with the other hand - that's because a shield (bracer? forgot the name for that tiny shield) is attached to it, so he can't attack with the weapon held by that hand.

    This will basically allow the character to draw a dagger as a free action once per encounter, or something like that. Not a major thing, but stepping on the Quick Draw feat slightly.

    Opinions?
    Want to see some interesting spells? A great magic system in action?
    Visit The Net Wizard's Grimoire wiki for a host of great Ars Magica spells!

 

  • #2
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)



    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    5,668
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    ° Ignore James McMurray
    Sounds fine to me. The FAQ says that changing how many hands you're holding a versatile weapon with is a free action, so grabbing a dagger with two hands should also be free, as would letting go with one of them. So perhaps technically it would be two free actions, but I don't know of a circumstance where that would matter.
    Need some random generators or want to read my campaign logs? http://rpg-tools.org/

  • #3
    The rules are silent on this issue, so...

    My first idea is that it should be a free action, but only when not actively attacking/defending. Thus, I would rule that it provokes an OA.

    My second idea is that I really don't want to mess with that OA, so it just becomes a free action.

  • #4
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)



    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Copenhagen, DK
    Posts
    79
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    ° Ignore BartD
    Quote Originally Posted by James McMurray View Post
    ... The FAQ says that ...
    Since I think the main question has been answered, I will ask where this FAQ can be found? On Wizards' site somewhere?
    Thanks!

  • #5
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)



    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    5,668
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    ° Ignore James McMurray
    Yep.

    There's also a very short one for the MM and an empty one for the DMG.
    Need some random generators or want to read my campaign logs? http://rpg-tools.org/

  • #6
    Registered User
    Myrmidon (Lvl 10)

    Leatherhead's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Sacramento California
    Posts
    870
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    ° Ignore Leatherhead
    That last FAQ entry looks fairly recent. Good thing, it answers one of the questions I had about the swordmage.

    But I don't think it is needed for the dagger. There are several work-arounds for this already in the game. Quick draw which is supposed to cover this, as you noted. But also, magic daggers automagicaly come back into the hand of whoever threw after an attack, completely bypassing both quick draw and the need to hold a second dagger.

    It is either a feat (that can be retrained later I might add) or 360g to get rid of the minor action to draw. If they plan on using daggers to any significant extent, they are going to eventually have a magic dagger anyway.
    If "A" is broken, that isn't a valid reason for "B" to be so, even if they vary in degree.

    Tactician style Gamer, or so I have been told.

    "Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen."-Albert Einstein

  • #7
    Community Supporter COPPER SUBSCRIBER
    Guide (Lvl 11)

    Starfox's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Link÷ping
    Posts
    2,829
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    ° Ignore Starfox
    There is a rule that says you can automatically draw a new weapon to replace one that you've thrown as a free action. so no Quick-Draw required.

    Also, this just came up. This might lead to some changes in the Swordmage. Not exactly what the OP was asking, but pretty close

    Ask Wizards: 10/08/2008

    Q: I wield a longsword. When I change from one hand to two (or vice versa), what type of action is that?

    A: Changing the number of hands you are using to hold a weapon can be done as a free action.
    Last edited by Starfox; Wednesday, 8th October, 2008 at 09:01 AM.
    Check out Action, my homebrew RPG or Apath my Pathfinder pages.

    Click here if my terms confuse you - specifically "storytelling", "gamey", and "emulationist".

    Law's Game Style Quiz: Storyteller 100%, Method Actor 92%, Specialist 75%, Power Gamer 67%, Tactician 67%, Butt-Kicker 42%, Casual Gamer 17%.

  • #8
    Moderatarrrrh...
    Defender (Lvl 8)

    Hypersmurf's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    25,766
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    ° Ignore Hypersmurf
    Quote Originally Posted by Starfox View Post
    There is a rule that says you can automatically draw a new weapon to replace one that you've thrown as a free action. so no Quick-Draw required.
    Do you have a page reference for that?

    -Hyp.

  • #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Hypersmurf View Post
    Do you have a page reference for that?

    -Hyp.
    Starfox was probably referring to PHB 217: "Load: .... If a power allows you to hit multiple targets, the additional load time is accounted for in the power."

    This actually doesn't apply to thrown weapons by RAW, but I allow it to apply. To me, there's little difference between loading and firing a crossbow nine times in six seconds and drawing and throwing 9 knives in six seconds. In fact, if we went hyper-realistic, crossbow users would be screwed.

    Edit: Then again, on the same page, "Light Thrown: ...but some powers let you hurl several of
    them at once or in rapid succession." This seems to point out that they intended to let this apply to thrown weapons. Otherwise, Quickdraw becomes a "feat tax" to use those powers (such as Blinding Barrage, Rogue 1), which is one of those "taboo design" things.
    Last edited by Dalzig; Wednesday, 8th October, 2008 at 08:25 PM.

  • #10
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    Nail's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, IA PCs now: Genasi Warlord 5 Human BRV Fighter 5
    Posts
    8,000
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    ° Ignore Nail
    How about switching a wand from your (light) shield hand to your free hand? A free action?
    - Nail

    Last edited by Nail: Today....just a few minutes ago

  • + Log in or register to post
    Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. [Free 'zine] Switching to Guns, Issues #19 & #20 Available Now!
      By BabbageCliologic in forum General RPG Discussion
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: Monday, 15th March, 2010, 02:52 AM
    2. Switching to Guns, free PDF, Issues #16 & #17 available now!
      By BabbageCliologic in forum General RPG Discussion
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: Sunday, 27th December, 2009, 06:40 AM
    3. Switching to Guns, #10 & #11, Free 'zine
      By BabbageCliologic in forum General RPG Discussion
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: Wednesday, 5th August, 2009, 09:29 PM
    4. switching a versatile weapon between 1h and 2h, what action?
      By bjorn2bwild in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 64
      Last Post: Tuesday, 28th October, 2008, 02:41 AM
    5. Switching hands in Combat and what effects a Golem?
      By Albert_Fish in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: Sunday, 8th December, 2002, 06:20 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •