Use a free action after a charge?




+ Log in or register to post
Page 1 of 9 123456789 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 85
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    fissionessence's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Mosswood Cir, Winter Springs, FL 32708
    Posts
    652

    Ignore fissionessence

    Use a free action after a charge?

    The rules say a character is not allowed to take any more actions during their turn after charging. It also says free actions can be used any time, even during another player's or enemy's turn.

    I couldn't find any examples of free actions that you'd want to use after a charge (other than something like talking, which a DM probably wouldn't think twice about), but suppose for the sake of discussion there were a power that was a free action that allows you to make a secondary attack after you hit with any melee attack.

    If a character charged and hit, would you allow them to use this free action to use their secondary attack? If not, how/why do you distinguish this from another free action, such as speaking?

    Or, perhaps, you feel such a power would never exist. If so, explain why, and how you suppose it might break the game.

    ~ fissionessence

    Click above to see S7S's FREE Rune Soldier Heroic Tier Playtest
    also check out Silent7Seven.com for information on The Lunar Scrolls,
    and the Advanced Class line including "Druid Favored Forms"
    and "Sorcerer Aberrant Blood"

 

  • #2
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)



    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Stoughton, MA
    Posts
    138

    Ignore Venator
    great question.

    Also, how does charging interact with Action Point use? Can a character charge and then use and Action Point?

    I dont have the books or PDF's with me right now to scope out the Action Point rules...

    Thanks guys.

  • #3
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    fissionessence's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Mosswood Cir, Winter Springs, FL 32708
    Posts
    652

    Ignore fissionessence
    Quote Originally Posted by Venator View Post
    Also, how does charging interact with Action Point use? Can a character charge and then use and Action Point?
    Actually, the charging rules specifically say you can't perform any more actions on your turn unless you spend an action point. So that part works fine

    Thanks for the reply! Sometimes I post theoretical rules questions to help design some classes I'm working on . . . hehe.

    ~

    Click above to see S7S's FREE Rune Soldier Heroic Tier Playtest
    also check out Silent7Seven.com for information on The Lunar Scrolls,
    and the Advanced Class line including "Druid Favored Forms"
    and "Sorcerer Aberrant Blood"

  • #4
    Registered User
    Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)

    Black Knight Irios's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    865

    Ignore Black Knight Irios
    It depends on the wording of the free action, I say.

    1: Bestial Armor (AV):
    Bestial Armor has a Daily power you can only use after a succesful charge. It is a free action.

    2: Flaming Weapon:
    Has a Daily Power you can use after a hit with the weapon, again a free action.

    Example 1 requires that you can use a free action after you charge, so I say specific trumps general. (Otherwise the power is useless).

    Whereas example 2 has enough normal situations to be applied w/o trumping the general rule after a charge. I'd say you can't use it after a charge.

    The question is, would it be gamebreaking to allow free actions after a charge?
    Even so the wording of the 'no further actions part of charge' is clear, is it intented to only prevent the usage of move and minor actions after a charge or all actions?
    The Death is my steady companion.
    I'll make him your last!
    Here I come - Prepare yourself!

    =Irios=

    If you're not satisfied with your char - ask for help!

  • #5
    Registered User
    Cutpurse (Lvl 5)

    Smeelbo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sacramento, California
    Posts
    220

    Ignore Smeelbo
    After a charge, I might want to use the power of a Paired Weapon to uncombine, or the Avalanche Hurler's utility Quick-Draw Trick, both of which are Free Actions. On the other hand, I could probably wait until the beginning of the next character's turn to do a Free Action, so mostly, it would make no difference.

    Smeelbo

  • #6
    Registered User
    Gallant (Lvl 3)



    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,214

    Ignore Kordeth
    Technically, this should follow the "specific beats general" rule.

    General Rule: You can take free actions at any time, even on an opponent's turn.

    Specific Rule: You cannot take any actions on your turn after a charge.

    Even More Specific Rule: This power is a free action you can use after you charge.

    So, by RAW, unless a power specifically says you can, you can't take free actions on your turn after a charge.
    ++++++++++++
    Travis Stout

    "An absolute monarchy is one in which the sovereign does as he pleases so long as he pleases the assassins."
    --Ambrose Bierce

  • #7
    I do it this way, if you have a power that the charge triggers, like bestial armor, elemental weapons and whatnot you can use them as if they were triggered normally, other free actions you make after you make saving throws

  • #8
    Registered User
    Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)



    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,311

    Ignore Runestar
    My communities:

    If I used an action point after charging, could I use free actions, or am I limited to that 1 standard action?

  • #9
    Registered User
    Gallant (Lvl 3)

    dammitbiscuit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    90803
    Posts
    288

    Ignore dammitbiscuit
    It's a free action, which you're free to take on anyone's turn. If your DM is being a stickler and saying you can't take any more actions in your turn, simply resolve the effect while the next guy takes his turn.

  • #10
    Registered User
    Spellbinder (Lvl 16)

    AbdulAlhazred's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    6,102

    Ignore AbdulAlhazred
    I don't think they were ESPECIALLY worried about free actions. I think they were more worried about combos where a PC would be able to charge and then use move actions or minor actions to back away again. The idea being that charging into battle shouldn't be some kind of 'hit and run' tactic that you use to get an attack bonus. It should commit you to duking it out with the enemy, at least for a round, and when you do it, its pretty much ALL you do that round.

    Of course there are always ways for a party to develop the charging yo-yo tactic, but it will have to rely on other character's using their abilities to 'wind the yo-yo back in'.

  • + Log in or register to post
    Page 1 of 9 123456789 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Move Action then Charge Standard Action? Is this Possible?
      By tanin in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: Tuesday, 1st July, 2008, 05:03 AM
    2. Charge Action Questions
      By Exquisite Dead Guy in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: Thursday, 26th June, 2008, 02:11 AM
    3. [3.0] Charge and Partial Action
      By Artoomis in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 30
      Last Post: Wednesday, 23rd July, 2003, 06:37 PM
    4. Partial charge vs. Standard Action charge
      By Jotun in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 12
      Last Post: Tuesday, 17th September, 2002, 06:54 PM
    5. run away then charge? one actioN?
      By Idayen Relanite in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 20
      Last Post: Saturday, 17th August, 2002, 08:51 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •