+ Log in or register to post
Results 31 to 40 of 85
Friday, 21st August, 2009, 06:02 PM #31
Gallant (Lvl 3)
1. Fey Charge: When you charge, you can use your fey step racial power as a free action to replace up to 5 squares of your charge movement with teleportation. If the charge attack hits, you do not expend fey step.
2. Eladrin Swordmage Advance: When you use your fey step racial power to teleport to a square adjacent to an enemy, you can make a melee basic attack against that enemy as a free action.
Reading these two together, the question becomes:
When using Fey Charge are you using "your fey step racial power to teleport to a square adjacent to an enemy?" Since you "use your fey step racial power as a free action" during the charge then, in most cases, you could use Eladrin Swordmage Advance before the charge attack is resolved - in fact, if you use it, it must be used before the charge attack is resolved or it is too late to use it. The exception being, for course, if you use Fey Charge but do not end up actually "teleport(ing) to a square adjacent to an enemy," which might very well happen.
This means you might use you fey step racial power in a charge, be successful with two attacks, and no have expended your use of the fey step power.
That's a really nice synergy, though it did cost a minimum of three feats to set it up (the two feats mentioned here plus at least one multiclass feat).
Last edited by Artoomis; Friday, 21st August, 2009 at 06:08 PM. Reason: fix typosForward! We've got them right where they want us!
Yes, there can be more than one right answer to a rules question! It can be an exercise in futility to attempt to apply a great deal of precision to an imprecise set of rules.
- EN World
- has no influence
- on adverts that
- are displayed by
- Google Adsense
Friday, 21st August, 2009, 06:07 PM #32
Friday, 21st August, 2009, 06:14 PM #33
Magsman (Lvl 14)
free action works based on the trigger, as I said earlier. If there is no trigger for the free action satisfied by any part of the resolution of the charge attack, and the action is worded such that you can only use it during your turn, then you can't use it after a charge. Warden's mark is one such action (as are the two other free actions I gave as examples earlier, Quick Wild Shape, and Boots of Eagerness).
Warning: This post may contain sarcasm.
Friday, 21st August, 2009, 06:18 PM #34
Friday, 21st August, 2009, 06:25 PM #35
The Grand Druid (Lvl 20)
1) A charge doesn't end your turn. Granted, it forbids you to use additional actions afterwards, but your turn is not technically over.
2) You can still resolve the entire issue if you resolve triggered actions at step 5 of the triggering action (or in many cases they will resolve in earlier steps anyway). See my last post for the logic involved. This interpretation actually deals with (I believe) all the issues surrounding charging and free actions. It also does so without assuming that any old free action can be used in the middle of other actions.
Friday, 21st August, 2009, 06:51 PM #36
Although I see your point about resolving the action, a triggered action is part of the next action imo. Otherwise any free-action ability triggered by an attack is part of that attack. So Your second charge from swift charge is still part of the first charge. So you get two charges in a row.
I'm not saying this is definite, just that things are not as clear as you make them out to be.
Friday, 21st August, 2009, 07:25 PM #37
Enchanter (Lvl 12)
Friday, 21st August, 2009, 07:57 PM #38
Acolyte (Lvl 2)
Some of you guys don't read the rules, but make gigantic assumptions about them. I really don't understand your problem with free actions. The rule:Can it get any simpler than that? The only restriction is the DM. He can call it quits when a PC is abusing them. the free attack during or after charge is certainly not an abuse.Free Action
Free actions take almost no time or effort. You can take as many free actions as you want during your or another combatant’s turn. The DM can restrict the number of free actions in a turn. Examples: speaking a few sentences, dropping a held item, letting go of a grabbed enemy.
Friday, 21st August, 2009, 08:10 PM #39
Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)
After the charge is not allowed, as per the charge rules.
A free action is still an action.After you resolve a charge attack, you can’t take any further actions this turn
During the charge is arguable.
Friday, 21st August, 2009, 08:24 PM #40
Acolyte (Lvl 2)