Use a free action after a charge? - Page 7




+ Log in or register to post
Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 85
  1. #61
    Quote Originally Posted by DracoSuave View Post
    Oh yes, if you have free actions during the charge itself (and that includes the attack and damage resolution) then by all means, use them.
    I agree but how far does that go? Specifically asking about swift charge.
    Swift Charge Barbarian Feature
    As your foe falls, you rush toward your next victim.
    Encounter ✦ Primal
    Free Action Personal
    Trigger: Your attack reduces an enemy to 0 hit points
    Effect: You charge an enemy.

 

  • #62
    Registered User
    Spellbinder (Lvl 16)

    AbdulAlhazred's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    5,947

    Ignore AbdulAlhazred
    Swift Charge would be fine. And by my interpretation if you triggered yet another thing during the swift charge itself, you could do that too (since it would resolve before SC resolves which in turn has to resolve before the original charge resolves, etc). I guess you could probably work up some example which combined multiple triggered actions on the original charge and the first one was a Swift Charge and then you could start wondering about exactly what is allowed to happen next. Ones head could explode due to over analysis as well.

  • #63
    Quote Originally Posted by AbdulAlhazred View Post
    Swift Charge would be fine. And by my interpretation if you triggered yet another thing during the swift charge itself, you could do that too (since it would resolve before SC resolves which in turn has to resolve before the original charge resolves, etc). I guess you could probably work up some example which combined multiple triggered actions on the original charge and the first one was a Swift Charge and then you could start wondering about exactly what is allowed to happen next. Ones head could explode due to over analysis as well.
    I have a huge problem with a barbarian stacking 80 things on top of a charge and refusing to let me mark after a charge. I understand the logic of it, but AT MOST, a charge gets one triggered free action on it when I DM.

  • #64
    Free actions I don't think are immediate interrupt actions, so you have to resolve the triggering action. As such, if a barbarian reduced a foe to 0 with a charge, no other actions (other than via an action point) can be taken, thus no swift charge. Same goes for the warden marking as a free action.

    This gets tricky if you had a free action that triggered on a hit or on damage. In that case you could trigger the action during the charge and it will resolve after you resolve the charge.

    A foe being reduced to zero is the result of the charge action, and a barbarian can't take any non-action point actions at that point.

    I wonder how this works if you use an action point to charge at the begining of your turn? Does an action point charge end your turn?

  • #65
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffhartsell View Post
    Free actions I don't think are immediate interrupt actions, so you have to resolve the triggering action. As such, if a barbarian reduced a foe to 0 with a charge, no other actions (other than via an action point) can be taken, thus no swift charge. Same goes for the warden marking as a free action.

    This gets tricky if you had a free action that triggered on a hit or on damage. In that case you could trigger the action during the charge and it will resolve after you resolve the charge.

    A foe being reduced to zero is the result of the charge action, and a barbarian can't take any non-action point actions at that point.

    I wonder how this works if you use an action point to charge at the begining of your turn? Does an action point charge end your turn?
    1) the triggered action MUST take place. It was triggered, and it's nested inside the triggering action. Nothing can take the free action away from the barbarian.

    2) It's free (can take place at any time) and it's triggered, which means it WILL go off - it's not like a dud or something. Show me the rule that makes triggered actions a dud. The wording of "no action after a charge" is superseded by the fact that free actions can take place at any time, and that the triggered action is mandated to take place by the rules. It's not the players choice to have the attack. The rules require it.

  • #66
    Quote Originally Posted by Orcus Porkus View Post
    1) the triggered action MUST take place. It was triggered, and it's nested inside the triggering action. Nothing can take the free action away from the barbarian.
    Except being dazed, stunned or unconscious. Personally I believe "no actions can take place" falls in this category
    Quote Originally Posted by Orcus Porkus View Post
    The wording of "no action after a charge" is superseded by the fact that free actions can take place at any time, and that the triggered action is mandated to take place by the rules. It's not the players choice to have the attack. The rules require it.
    You act as though the DM is mandated by the rules, which is just never true. Anyway, I am of the opinion that it's the other way around in this situation. The fact that the free action is triggered is superseded by the fact that you can't take actions after a charge.

  • #67
    Quote Originally Posted by Flipguarder View Post
    Except being dazed, stunned or unconscious. Personally I believe "no actions can take place" falls in this category
    show me the rule

  • #68
    STUNNED (PHB 277)
    ✦ You grant combat advantage.
    You can’t take actions.
    ✦ You can’t flank an enemy.
    UNCONSCIOUS (PHB 277)
    ✦ You’re helpless.
    ✦ You take a –5 penalty to all defenses.
    ✦ You can’t take actions.
    ✦ You fall prone, if possible.
    ✦ You can’t flank an enemy.
    CHARGE: STANDARD ACTION (PHB 287-288)
    ✦ Move and Attack: Move your speed as part of the
    charge and make a melee basic attack or a bull rush
    at the end of your move.
    ✦ +1 Bonus to the Attack Roll: You gain a +1 bonus
    to the attack roll of your basic attack or bull rush.
    ✦ Movement Requirements: You must move at least
    2 squares from your starting position, and you must
    move directly to the nearest square from which you
    can attack the enemy. You can’t charge if the nearest
    square is occupied. Moving over difficult terrain
    costs extra squares of movement as normal.
    ✦ Provoke Opportunity Attacks: If you leave a
    square adjacent to an enemy, that enemy can make
    an opportunity attack against you.
    ✦ No Further Actions: After you resolve a charge
    attack, you can’t take any further actions this turn,
    unless you spend an action point to take an extra
    action.
    Turns out I was wrong about dazed... oh well. the point still stands.

    I suppose the thing you will argue against is that there is a difference between "you can't take any further actions" and "no actions can take place". That's a fair point. But at the end of the day, if it meant you couldn't take any actions except free actions it would say so, like it does in the dazed description, not just allow for action points and mention nothing else. I think that using "action points" to allow for "free actions" by making them synonymous is far-fetched.
    Last edited by Flipguarder; Monday, 24th August, 2009 at 03:33 PM.

  • #69
    [never mind]

  • #70
    [deleted]
    Last edited by Flipguarder; Monday, 24th August, 2009 at 03:41 PM.

  • + Log in or register to post
    Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Move Action then Charge Standard Action? Is this Possible?
      By tanin in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: Tuesday, 1st July, 2008, 05:03 AM
    2. Charge Action Questions
      By Exquisite Dead Guy in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: Thursday, 26th June, 2008, 02:11 AM
    3. [3.0] Charge and Partial Action
      By Artoomis in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 30
      Last Post: Wednesday, 23rd July, 2003, 06:37 PM
    4. Partial charge vs. Standard Action charge
      By Jotun in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 12
      Last Post: Tuesday, 17th September, 2002, 06:54 PM
    5. run away then charge? one actioN?
      By Idayen Relanite in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 20
      Last Post: Saturday, 17th August, 2002, 08:51 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •