Question about Dragonkin Defender's "None Shall Pass" ability

Pozeltum

First Post
Hello there. I'm VERY new to 4E so please forgive me if this question is just plain silly.

Power in question:
None Shall Pass (standard; recharge ⚄ ⚅) ✦ Weapon
Requires longsword; +13 vs. AC; 2d8 + 3 damage, and the
target is immobilized and takes a –2 penalty to all defenses
(save ends both).

The question: In game terms, how does the power immobilize a character? Is it considered to be a "Hold Person" or similar spell placed upon the character? Maybe the kobold slices through specific spots on its target and/or targets armor which renders the target immobilized. Say catching a piece of lose chain mail and pinning its opponent to a wooden door (I doubt this would be the case, just throwing out quick ideas) I take it that the kobold can continue attacking others with the same sword while his initial foe is sitting there immobilized, making it possible for a single kobold, say vs 2 opponents, to immobilize them (if they have some bad saving throws) and then taking a couple quick chops to murder his helpless opponents.

Could someone please explain how the power is supposed to work in game, and, if you are a DM, add in how you add in the "flare" so to speak on how you play it out in game.

Any response would be greatly appreciated.

4E, lots to learn!

NMcCoy

Explorer
The immobilized condition only prevents movement; characters take no penalty to defenses (normally - this condition in particular imposes a -2 to defenses as well), still get their full complement of actions, and can attack as normal. The targets are far from helpless.

Flavor-wise, you could describe it however you like, but you should make the mechanical situation clear - players should know that their characters are "Immobilized (save ends)".

Pozeltum

First Post
Thanks NMcCoy,