Dominate: Can you compel free actions?




+ Log in or register to post
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43
  1. #1

    Dominate: Can you compel free actions?

    OK, a Dominated creature is Dazed, and you choose its one (standard/move/minor) action.

    A Dazed creature can normally take Free actions.

    Can you force a Dominated creature to take free actions in addition to its one S/M/M action? Instead of? More than one free action?

    "Drop your sword (free), charge at your buddy (single S/M/M action allowed by Dazed), then fall prone (free)": Legitimate for a dominated target?

    "Tell me who your boss is." (Talking, a free action: Legitimate?)

    Also: Is a Dominated creature still an "enemy"? I want to make my puppets run (lowering their defenses) in a zig-zag through my allies, letting them make opportunity attacks. Allowed?
    MrLizard.com: Lots of useful (crunchy) stuff for your RPG needs!

 

  • #2
    Registered User
    Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)



    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North Germany
    Posts
    575

    Ignore 1of3
    Enemy or ally do not make sense, if you consider them states or conditions of some kind. An ally is simply a "willing target of your choice". An enemy is a target of your choice, whether willing or not.

    You can make opportunity attacks against your friends, if you like.

  • #3
    Registered User
    Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)

    Mort_Q's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    Posts
    1,769

    Ignore Mort_Q
    Quote Originally Posted by 1of3 View Post
    Enemy or ally do not make sense, if you consider them states or conditions of some kind. An ally is simply a "willing target of your choice". An enemy is a target of your choice, whether willing or not.

    You can make opportunity attacks against your friends, if you like.
    I agree, the "enemy" and "ally" distinction is made by the player when they choose to use their power(s).

    As for free actions, since they are the purview of the DM anyway, I'd allow simple ones, like "drop your weapon" but compelling information... I'd have to look at other powers... but gut feeling is that that would be stepping on the toes of other charm effects.

  • #4
    Registered User
    Thaumaturgist (Lvl 9)

    Mesh Hong's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    822
    Blog Entries
    4

    Ignore Mesh Hong
    I generally interpret dominated as giving the creature that is dominating the target one action.

    That one action could be to drop prone, throw their weapon away, make an attack, move etc.

    Personally I think having the dominated target attack, then drop their weapon, then fall prone is a little harsh, you are already making them effectively miss their turn and hinder the rest of their team.

  • #5
    Registered User
    Myrmidon (Lvl 10)

    Infiniti2000's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    10,483

    Ignore Infiniti2000
    Quote Originally Posted by Lizard View Post
    OK, a Dominated creature is Dazed, and you choose its one (standard/move/minor) action.

    A Dazed creature can normally take Free actions.

    Can you force a Dominated creature to take free actions in addition to its one S/M/M action? Instead of? More than one free action?
    No, you said it yourself: one. From the glossary, "The dominating creature chooses your action."

    Quote Originally Posted by Lizard View Post
    "Tell me who your boss is." (Talking, a free action: Legitimate?)
    This of course works, but not like you imply. You choose the action, you don't request an action. The dominated creature should respond to this, "Who your boss is." The dominated creature doesn't choose the response, it's given to him.
    Hva' fanden? Fr vi en orkan?

  • #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Lizard View Post
    "Drop your sword (free), charge at your buddy (single S/M/M action allowed by Dazed), then fall prone (free)": Legitimate for a dominated target?
    Fall Prone is not a free action its a minor action (PH 289), so that is not legitimate combined in the group above.

  • #7
    Astral Admin - Mwahahaha!
    Grandmaster of Flowers (Lvl 18)

    Plane Sailing's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,616
    Blog Entries
    6

    Ignore Plane Sailing
    Quote Originally Posted by Lizard View Post
    OK, a Dominated creature is Dazed, and you choose its one (standard/move/minor) action.

    A Dazed creature can normally take Free actions.

    Can you force a Dominated creature to take free actions in addition to its one S/M/M action? Instead of? More than one free action?
    Personally, I would say yes (although forcing them to run past allies to provoke OA might seem a bit cheesy!)
    Plane Sailing
    (Enworld Admin)
    If you need to email me click here

    I'd like things to go back and forth from "ARGH!" to "WOOO!" more frequently. - Kamikaze Midget

  • #8
    The "one action only" thing makes sense to me; it's how I interpreted it, but some folks on RPG.net have apparently been using the "Free action loophole".

    On allies/enemies: I agree it ought to be up to the player, but this opens up some nasty loopholes -- my ranger might decide that all orc minions near him are "allies", so his "nearest enemy" is the orc chieftain, making it way too easy to cherry pick a quarry. But I suppose that's another thread.

    (Really wish they'd fix the auto-alert when replies are posted thing, already...)
    MrLizard.com: Lots of useful (crunchy) stuff for your RPG needs!

  • #9
    Registered User
    Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)

    Mort_Q's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    Posts
    1,769

    Ignore Mort_Q
    Quote Originally Posted by Lizard View Post
    The "one action only" thing makes sense to me; it's how I interpreted it, but some folks on RPG.net have apparently been using the "Free action loophole".

    On allies/enemies: I agree it ought to be up to the player, but this opens up some nasty loopholes -- my ranger might decide that all orc minions near him are "allies", so his "nearest enemy" is the orc chieftain, making it way too easy to cherry pick a quarry. But I suppose that's another thread.

    (Really wish they'd fix the auto-alert when replies are posted thing, already...)
    I never even thought of that...

    .... luckily that's covered under the sack-of-rats rules.

  • #10
    Community Supporter
    Waghalter (Lvl 7)

    Abraxas's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Grand Haven, MI
    Posts
    1,348
    I Defended The Walls!

    Ignore Abraxas
    This question came up in the game I'm playing in. The enemy dominated our characters and then forced us to attack each other then use our action points (free action). Couple this with the interpretation that action point use overrules the "only one action while dazed" and we were pretty well screwed.

    FTR I agree with the interpretation that action point use can give an additional action when dazed, however - now I am concerned we will to run into creatures that can dominate frequently.
    Avocado's number: The number of avocados needed to make 1 mol of guacamole -- Amedeo Avocado
    "We are the group the bad guys level up on." -- Dagger75, Epic Commoner
    "It's like chess or physics, but stupider." -- R. Newman

  • + Log in or register to post
    Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Dominate and free actions
      By eamon in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: Tuesday, 20th October, 2009, 07:46 AM
    2. AOO and Free actions.
      By Mystern in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 24
      Last Post: Thursday, 13th December, 2007, 01:32 AM
    3. Free Actions and AoO
      By Xellous in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 17
      Last Post: Sunday, 1st May, 2005, 10:47 PM
    4. How many free actions
      By Vysirez in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 22
      Last Post: Sunday, 25th January, 2004, 03:52 AM
    5. How many Free Actions per round?
      By Bobbystopholes in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: Tuesday, 23rd April, 2002, 02:40 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •