Working the game

Aion

First Post
Hey. This is my first post here. I’m wondering what other people’s experience has been playing with friends who aren’t “good at D&D.”

This is my situation. A few months ago I started playing D&D after a 15-year hiatus (I’m 29) with A., who had never played before but was very enthusiastic about it, and the DM, who is a much more seasoned player than I am but was also returning to the game after a fairly long break.

Since it’s a small group, the DM plays a PC, a halfling rogue who helps out in combat but, obviously, doesn’t participate in strategic discussions and decision-making. My character is a half-elf paladin who, at level 8, is quite well-built (STR 18, CHA 17, CON 18… INT 5. We used the roll-4d6-drop-one method rather than standard arrays). A. plays a human cleric with a high score of STR 16. If she had read the Player’s Handbook and taken its advice, she would have built a Battle Cleric and chosen melee attacks. But instead she picks mostly WIS-based ranged attacks, and since her score is 13 (it had been 12, but when we reached level 8 she raised it at my insistence) they’re not always effective. Her second-highest score is INT 14, and she’s chosen training in Arcana, and her ability to cast rituals and identify magic items partially compensates for the lack of a wizard in the party, but isn’t much help in combat.