D&D 3E/3.5 3.5 Conversion in Actual Play

Melkor

Explorer
Hi folks,

I was contacted by the DM that I started playing with in the mid 80's today, and after a couple of years without gaming, he wants to pick up on one of our longest-running games and play.

The last time he ran things, he ran 3.5, but one of the other guys in my group and I showed him Pathfinder. His biggest concern is all of the conversion that might be required.

Things like converting Warduke from the Dragon Magazine article, and converting over material from the Draconomicon and Horders of the Abyss books.

For those of you who have actually converted modules from 3.5 to Pathfinder....including characters, npcs, monsters, feats, and items, how difficult was it to convert?

For those of you who have winged 3.5 conversion on the fly, did you notice any major problems with power and encounter balance?

Thanks.

Sylrae

First Post
I play with some additional changes on top of Pathfinder, such as extra HP at level 1, and a faster Attribute progression, but it doesnt take me that long.

Takes about 5 minutes for a 6 level character, cause youre just looking at the things that changed. With all my extra changes, it takes about 15.

As for on the fly, you'll find encounters get progressively easier. If you use the creatures/npcs as is.

The classes are toned up, and the new Base Races, are actually like LA+1. The Teifling is at base-race power now, for example. Oddly LA+1 only seems to be worth about 0.20 extra in levels. I think the teifling may just be at the low end of LA+1.

As mentioned, base classes got boosted, basically up to where the druid, and some of the more powerful splat classes were.

So on the fly, you'll find:

Monsters have less feats.
Monster Races are actually like a CR Lower due to having less overall.
Pathfinder CRs are more accurately guaged than WoTC ones, which were often undervalued, but not consistently enough to know for every monster.

DM_Jeff

Explorer