LEB Discussion Thread '10 - Page 63
Closed Thread
Page 63 of 101 FirstFirst ... 13535455565758596061626364656667686970717273 ... LastLast
Results 621 to 630 of 1010
  1. #621
    If my psion is wielding two orbs or a orb and a staff would I need to declare which one he is casting a power through? For example a staff of psicraft and a orb of unfailing concentration both say "using this" staff or orb.

  2. #622
    Member
    Thaumaturgist (Lvl 9)



    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    King of Prussia, PA
    Posts
    1,283
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Block twilsemail


    Friend+
    Quote Originally Posted by hornedturtle View Post
    If my psion is wielding two orbs or a orb and a staff would I need to declare which one he is casting a power through? For example a staff of psicraft and a orb of unfailing concentration both say "using this" staff or orb.
    While I'm new to PbP I know this would be expected at the table so I can't see why it wouldn't be expected here. This goes double for Superior Implements and implements with properties and powers.

  3. #623
    Spawn of Khyber/LEB Judge
    Enchanter (Lvl 12)

    stonegod's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Starkville, MS
    Posts
    12,534
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Block stonegod


    Friend+
    You need to specify, as the enhancement bonuses may be different or the properties. Only items that don't specify that you must use it on the attack benefit you regardless.

  4. #624
    Member
    Waghalter (Lvl 7)



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    2,662
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Block Vertexx69


    Friend+
    Quote Originally Posted by renau1g View Post
    Would the staff of corrosion or the serpents' properties work with melee implement attacks made with the staff? Like when a druid is in beast form? The staff descriptions don't say melee "weapon" attacks. As long as it has the Melee keyword I believe it should yes.
    What about close attacks that are described in the book as attacks with the druid's body? (ie; swarming locusts, scatter form, flowing swarm and the like?) I know close powers that conjure primal spirits for an attack or summon thunder/lightning won't get the bonus 1d6, but the ones that say "your swarm form" strike me as close melee attacks like the close martial powers that use a big swing to hit multiple targets.

  5. #625
    Member
    The Great Druid (Lvl 17)



    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    13,431
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Block KarinsDad


    Friend+
    Quote Originally Posted by Vertexx69 View Post
    What about close attacks that are described in the book as attacks with the druid's body? (ie; swarming locusts, scatter form, flowing swarm and the like?) I know close powers that conjure primal spirits for an attack or summon thunder/lightning won't get the bonus 1d6, but the ones that say "your swarm form" strike me as close melee attacks like the close martial powers that use a big swing to hit multiple targets.
    The staff properties are explicit. If the power has the melee keyword, it works. If the power does not have the melee keyword, it does not work. The game rules of how the power works does not take into account the fluff of how we might imagine powers working.

    Property: Any melee attack made with this staff deals +1d6 acid damage.
    Property: Any melee attack made with this staff deals +1d6 poison damage.

    If a close attack has the melee keyword, then the staff adds the extra damage, regardless of whether it is a weapon or implement attack. If not, it doesn't.

  6. #626
    KD's right, that's the reason for the keywords

  7. #627
    My issue is that i'm trying to decide if i should go with a staff of psycraft or a staff of the war mage for my psion, both let you increase the area of a burst or blast power by one but the psycraft one is two levels higher and has agument 2 to regain use of the item's power but the staff of the warmage does not require the power to be chanel through it. I plan on using the staff with a orb of life conversion.

  8. #628
    Staff of Ruin.

    If you use staffs as implements it's the best one in the game. My 2 cents.

  9. #629
    Is the Staff of Ruin just extra extra damage?

    Also interesting question what happens to a Warforged with no surges left who is at negative hit points? does he just stay there forever?
    Last edited by hornedturtle; Monday, 28th June, 2010 at 04:05 AM.

  10. #630
    Quote Originally Posted by hornedturtle View Post
    Is the Staff of Ruin just extra extra damage?

    Also interesting question what happens to a Warforged with no surges left who is at negative hit points? does he just stay there forever?
    I think you have to put in more batteries

    Can't Warforges die like everything else?

Closed Thread
Page 63 of 101 FirstFirst ... 13535455565758596061626364656667686970717273 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Discussion - General Discussion Thread 2010-11
    By Living Enworld Judge in forum Living EN World
    Replies: 205
    Last Post: Tuesday, 4th September, 2012, 05:03 PM
  2. Discussion - General Discussion Thread '09
    By Phoenix8008 in forum Living EN World
    Replies: 336
    Last Post: Thursday, 13th January, 2011, 03:55 PM
  3. Discussion - General Discussion Thread '08
    By Bront in forum Living EN World
    Replies: 368
    Last Post: Sunday, 8th February, 2009, 06:14 PM
  4. Discussion - General Discussion Thread XI
    By Bront in forum Living EN World
    Replies: 761
    Last Post: Tuesday, 1st January, 2008, 10:55 PM
  5. (IR) The 3rd IR -Thread 2.5 (Holding thread -discussion and actions)
    By William Ronald in forum Playing the Game
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: Sunday, 7th April, 2002, 08:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •