LEB Discussion Thread '10 - Page 65


What's on your mind?

Closed Thread
Page 65 of 101 FirstFirst ... 15555657585960616263646566676869707172737475 ... LastLast
Results 641 to 650 of 1010
  1. #641
    I use CoCo because IC doesn't work from my work comp, and I do 80% of my posting from here (work). Sofar no one has had an issue with it.
    L4W: Chaku- Barbarian LEB: Ryda- Ranger, Thalin- Bard

 

  • #642
    PbP Addict
    The Great Druid (Lvl 17)

    renau1g's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16,816
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore renau1g
    My communities:

    Quote Originally Posted by Mezegis View Post
    In transitioning to the new enwiki site, Rydas character sheet got severely messed up, both in formatting, and since I needed to use an old version dredged up from the bowels in the enworld wiki, I lost my 2nd approval (Email came from Michael Sawi, whomever that is on the boards) I hadnt actually noticed until now, when I have to level her up.

    My question is, since Im pretty much going to have to remake her, should I make her at level 4, submit her for approval, and then level her up and resubmit her, or just build her for level 5?
    Just do it for level 5, we'll review the whole thing. TwoHeadsBarking is who your secodn approval was from.

    Quote Originally Posted by twilsemail View Post
    I'd just like to toss out the opinion that those items are the most optimal choices for most PCs. I don't particularly think that most optimal = Best. I mean it's oten the best, depending on how much focus there is on RP vs. Challenge and the like.

    I hope that didn't come off as too preachy.
    Difference in viewpoint I suppose. Everyone's job in a fight, no matter role, is to kill the bad guys right? (well except pacifist clerics) These help you kill faster and therefore spend less time fighting and more time RP'ing

    But yes they are the most optimal items for most PCs.

  • #643
    Registered User
    Enchanter (Lvl 12)

    Velmont's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
    Posts
    14,813
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Velmont
    My communities:

    Quote Originally Posted by evilbob View Post
    Very true.

    Which is why you hold an orb of Nimble Thoughts in your off-hand, since it gives a static bonus - and an encounter power - and doesn't require you to cast through it to use either. Only good for Int-based characters, though - others should find a different property-based off-hand item.

    Have I mentioned properties > daily item powers?
    One good for anyone item to wield in your off-hand: Rhythm Blade. Anyone can wield a dagger, and that one have a property equivalent to a small shield. To get more defense, it is great, and you never need to upgrade the dagger once you have it.
    Characters
    Jarel-karn - Genasi Swordmage 12 [L4W]
    Gloom - Longtooth Shifter Paladin 11 [L4W]
    Eloan - Eladrin Warlord 7 [L4W]
    River - Longtooth Shifter Cleric 11 [LEB]
    Malehan - Elf Avenger 8 [LEB]
    Valeria - Human Witch 1

    "Experience is that great thing that allow you to see a mistake when you do it again."

  • #644
    Registered User
    Thaumaturgist (Lvl 9)

    evilbob's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    2,689
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore evilbob
    Quote Originally Posted by Mezegis View Post
    My question is, since I’m pretty much going to have to remake her, should I make her at level 4, submit her for approval, and then level her up and resubmit her, or just build her for level 5?
    My understanding is that rebuild for level 5 is ok. I think if you want to change race or class you may need a proposal or something, but otherwise you get a free overhaul for your first level anyway so that should be ok.

    You may want to include something explaining the original level 4 approvals just to have a record of that.

    Edit: Ninja'd by R1 after leaving the post up for over 6 hrs again...

  • #645
    PbP Addict
    The Great Druid (Lvl 17)

    renau1g's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16,816
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore renau1g
    My communities:

    Ha! I never get to do that to anyone...


    LEB Judge - Come try PbP in Eberron (4e)
    http://www.enworld.org/forum/living-eberron/


    L4W Judge - Come try PbP in the Transitive Isles (4e - Homebrew)
    http://www.enworld.org/forum/living-4th-edition/

  • #646
    Registered User
    Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)

    Antithetist's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Gloucestershire, England
    Posts
    736
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Antithetist
    My communities:

    Apologies guys, I think this was discussed before (or maybe it was over in L4W? Dunno), but now I can't find it, and the wiki doesn't include any mention of it in houserules. So: Superior Implement Training feats. Do we allow these? They seem like real no-brainer gimme feats for any character who can use them, much like the Expertise feats which were houseruled into a free bonus for precisely that reason. I haven't looked too closely at the others yet, but I'm thinking here primarily of the Accurate implements that just give you a flat +1, thus basically just taking on the role of an extra Expertise feat.

    If, as I rather suspect, these are disallowed, then I guess that should be added to the houserules page on the wiki, right?

    EDIT: Another implement question: say that I'm a Wizard, and I pick Orb of Deception for my Arcane Implement Mastery. Then I buy a basic nonmagical orb, which I wield in my off-hand, and a Staff of Ruin, which is held in my mainhand. Then I use an Illusion power, applying my Staff of Ruin's enhancement bonus to it - it misses. Now, can I use my Orb of Deception power, even though I didn't use an Orb to make the attack? By the letter of the rules it looks like I can - 'you must wield an orb to benefit from this feature', okay, I'm wielding an orb, no problem right? But I've also seen rulings that you can never benefit from two different implements on the same attack - does this fall under that? My instinct says no, since the Orb isn't directly benefiting the attack itself, it's just enabling the use of a seperate power which also happens to interact with the attack. Am I right about that?
    Last edited by Antithetist; Friday, 2nd July, 2010 at 12:34 AM.

  • #647
    PbP Addict
    The Great Druid (Lvl 17)

    renau1g's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16,816
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore renau1g
    My communities:

    Superior Implements are allowed, just as superior weapons. I don't think they're gimme feats, but they are very good feats, just like most weapon users will want to grab a bigger weapon.

    re: the orb/staff, I'd say that the Orb is a different power, therefore you could use the orb after missing with the staff, but the power would need to be channeled through the orb, losing the Staff's benefits

  • #648
    Registered User
    Thaumaturgist (Lvl 9)

    evilbob's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    2,689
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore evilbob
    Superior implements are in addition to expertise feats; therefore they are separate and intended to be stacked. Nothing has been said to my knowledge about disallowing superior implement feats in L4W or LEB. Yes, they are so good that they are no-brainers, just like expertise feats.

    I haven't looked up the description for the orb you listed but if only requires wielding then you only have to wield it. If it says it only effects an attack cast through this orb then you have to cast through it. Sorry that's stating the obvious but I think it really is that simple.

  • #649
    Registered User
    Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)

    Antithetist's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Gloucestershire, England
    Posts
    736
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Antithetist
    My communities:

    Quote Originally Posted by renau1g View Post
    re: the orb/staff, I'd say that the Orb is a different power, therefore you could use the orb after missing with the staff, but the power would need to be channeled through the orb, losing the Staff's benefits
    Hmm. This makes a kind of logical sense, but I'm not sure that the RAW supports it. Nothing in the Orb of Deception power description states that you actually have to use the Orb with the power. For easy reference:

    Orb of Deception
    Encounter
    Free Action
    Trigger: When you miss an enemy with a wizard illusion power
    Effect: Choose another enemy within 3 squares of the missed target. The chosen enemy cannot also be a target of the original attack. Repeat the attack against this new target, with a bonus to the attack roll equal to your Charisma modifier.
    Requirement: You must wield an orb to benefit from this feature.


    evilbob's thoughts pretty much mirror my own, that since nothing says that the power (either the original miss or the retry) has to be channeled through the orb, and since you can wield an implement in each hand, there's nothing to stop this unless there's a seperate ruling somewhere that bears upon it. It is, however, some rather dubious cheese, so I thought I should run it by people before I went ahead and included it in a character.


    Good to know about Superior Implements. Looks like I'll have to updated my wishlists...

  • #650
    Registered User
    Thaumaturgist (Lvl 9)

    evilbob's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    2,689
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore evilbob
    Yeah, I'd say you're pretty safe (at least insofar as how I see the rules, keeping in mind I'm not a judge). The requirement says you have to wield it, but it does not say in the trigger "illusion wizard powers cast through this orb miss", just "when you miss". That's not to say that given the next batch of errata it won't get changed (they've been updating a lot of orbs that way), but unless it gets changed, I think you're good.

    My wizard does the same thing, btw: Accurate Staff of Ruin + Orb of Nimble Thoughts in the off-hand.

  • Closed Thread
    Page 65 of 101 FirstFirst ... 15555657585960616263646566676869707172737475 ... LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Discussion - General Discussion Thread 2010-11
      By Living Enworld Judge in forum Living EN World
      Replies: 205
      Last Post: Tuesday, 4th September, 2012, 06:03 PM
    2. Discussion - General Discussion Thread '09
      By Phoenix8008 in forum Living EN World
      Replies: 336
      Last Post: Thursday, 13th January, 2011, 03:55 PM
    3. Discussion - General Discussion Thread '08
      By Bront in forum Living EN World
      Replies: 368
      Last Post: Sunday, 8th February, 2009, 06:14 PM
    4. Discussion - General Discussion Thread XI
      By Bront in forum Living EN World
      Replies: 761
      Last Post: Tuesday, 1st January, 2008, 10:55 PM
    5. (IR) The 3rd IR -Thread 2.5 (Holding thread -discussion and actions)
      By William Ronald in forum Playing the Game
      Replies: 41
      Last Post: Sunday, 7th April, 2002, 09:32 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •