LEB Discussion Thread '10 - Page 71
Closed Thread
Page 71 of 101 FirstFirst ... 21616263646566676869707172737475767778798081 ... LastLast
Results 701 to 710 of 1010
  1. #701
    Got a rules question about the interaction between the item "hammer shield" and the feat "mark of warding."
    Quote Originally Posted by Hammer shield
    When you hit an enemy with an attack power using a hammer while wielding this shield, you gain a +1 bonus to all defenses until the start of your next turn.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark of warding
    Whenever one of your powers grants a bonus to a defense, increase that bonus by 1.
    "When you hit with an attack power," you gain the +1 bonus... and "whenever one of your powers grants a bonus," I should increase it by 1. Essentially, all my attack powers grant a bonus to defense now when they hit. I think the combo here is effective and it actually grants a +2 to all defenses.

    Does this seem sound?

  2. #702
    Member
    The Great Druid (Lvl 17)

    renau1g's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16,816
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Block renau1g


    Friend+
    My communities:

    I believe they wouldn't stack as the item grants the bonus, not the power.

  3. #703
    I just edited this onto my above post, but in case you missed it, I said all my attack powers now grant a bonus to defense (when they hit). Not sure if that makes a difference to you.

  4. #704
    I would actually say no, it doesn't combo because the power isn't what's increasing your defenses, the shield is. However, I'm far from being an authority on the subject.

    Edit: and I see R1 beat me to it.

  5. #705
    Member
    Enchanter (Lvl 12)

    Velmont's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
    Posts
    14,813
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Block Velmont


    Friend+
    My communities:

    I agree with R1. The item give you a bonus when a power hit, but the bonus come from the item.

    The mark is clear, it bolster you powers effect, not your items propriety. They shouldn't stack.

  6. #706
    I guess my line of reasoning is that because of the item, all powers grant a bonus. Therefore, because the bonus comes from when you use a power, it would count.

  7. #707
    Member
    Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)



    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Gloucestershire, England
    Posts
    736
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Block Antithetist


    Friend+
    My communities:

    I have a DMing question regarding treasure distribution that I could use some advice on.

    It's possible, using the parcel system, to work yourself into a hole where for one particular given level there is only one parcel you can take, and no items of that level that are any use to you. Take, for instance, somebody who took an n+4 parcel at level 1 for a level 5 weapon, an n+3 parcel at level 2 for a level 5 suit of armour, and then gold at level 3. The only parcel he can take at level 4 is of course n+2, giving a level 6 item.

    Now, say that this player conspicuously hasn't bought a neck slot item (yes, I have somebody in mind here ). He also hasn't made a wishlist, so it's up to me to find something sensible to give him - obviously my first thought is a neck slot item, so I do a Compendium search for level 6 neck slot items and turn up... zero. Absolutely nothing. Okay, so I figure he can buy a basic neck slot item with his gold, and in the meantime I look for something else useful to give him.

    A weapon or piece of armour would be highly questionable, since it'd only be a 1 item level upgrade from what he already has. There are possible options for hands/waist/feet slot items, but none of them look like items I would be happy to receive if I was playing this character.

    So my question is: is it viable in this situation to award a level 5 item instead? It's 1 level below what was expected, but it's going to be a whole lot more useful. If so, do I make up the difference in item budget by giving him some gold as well? (The difference between a level 5 and level 6 item is 800gp). Or am I honour bound to give him a level 6 item even if it's crappy?

  8. #708
    Member
    Thaumaturgist (Lvl 9)

    Neurotic's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Posts
    5,845
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Block Neurotic


    Friend+
    I would ask the player to choose. Or make suggestion(s) of sixth level item he would like to receive.

    You don't know, he may prefer armor/weapon upgrade to crappy 'other slot' item. Or will take basic +2 neck and buy something himself.

  9. #709
    Member
    Enchanter (Lvl 12)

    Velmont's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
    Posts
    14,813
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Block Velmont


    Friend+
    My communities:

    Magical Amulet +2 is a level 6 item.

  10. #710
    I was about to say the same thing: a +2 plain-ol' anything is a level 6 item. Most of the time, especially at lower levels, a straight +2 is better economically with this system anyway.

    My other suggestion would be to just give gold equal to a level 6 item. I hope that's ok; sometimes an item just doesn't work and gold is much better.

Closed Thread
Page 71 of 101 FirstFirst ... 21616263646566676869707172737475767778798081 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Discussion - General Discussion Thread 2010-11
    By Living Enworld Judge in forum Living EN World
    Replies: 205
    Last Post: Tuesday, 4th September, 2012, 06:03 PM
  2. Discussion - General Discussion Thread '09
    By Phoenix8008 in forum Living EN World
    Replies: 336
    Last Post: Thursday, 13th January, 2011, 03:55 PM
  3. Discussion - General Discussion Thread '08
    By Bront in forum Living EN World
    Replies: 368
    Last Post: Sunday, 8th February, 2009, 06:14 PM
  4. Discussion - General Discussion Thread XI
    By Bront in forum Living EN World
    Replies: 761
    Last Post: Tuesday, 1st January, 2008, 10:55 PM
  5. (IR) The 3rd IR -Thread 2.5 (Holding thread -discussion and actions)
    By William Ronald in forum Playing the Game
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: Sunday, 7th April, 2002, 09:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •