Quick Question: Does damage from auras stack?




+ Log in or register to post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    4ognard
    The Great Druid (Lvl 17)

    TerraDave's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    A Nation's Capitol
    Posts
    6,948
    Gygax MagazineI Defended The Walls!

    ° Ignore TerraDave

    Quick Question: Does damage from auras stack?

    Multiples of a creature with a damage causing aura, does this stack?
    Looking to play 5E in DC, click here!
    A semi-brief History of D&D and some other RPGs: Part 1: 1967-1979 Part 2: 1980-1989

 

  • #2
    Registered User
    Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)

    Black Knight Irios's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    865

    ° Ignore Black Knight Irios
    Quote Originally Posted by May 2010 Update
    Aura
    Page 280: Remove ôand effects imposed by an aura last until the end of the affected creaturesĺ next turn unless otherwise statedö from the first paragraph. Replace the third paragraph of the aura section with the following text. This change removes the rule that prevents stacking in damage auras, ensuring that monsters are achieving correct damage output.

    Aura: An aura is a continuous effect that affects all squares within the listed range of the originating creatureĺs space. An aura does not affect the originating creature unless the text specifies otherwise.
    Yes, damage auras stack.
    The Death is my steady companion.
    I'll make him your last!
    Here I come - Prepare yourself!

    =Irios=

    If you're not satisfied with your char - ask for help!

  • #3
    Registered User
    The Great Druid (Lvl 17)

    Obryn's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Normal, IL
    Posts
    6,523
    KickstarterZEITGEISTD&DI Defended The Walls!

    ° Ignore Obryn
    Yep, it does now. Kruthik are now much, much scarier at low levels.

    And you can do a swift TPK of any level with a few of those fire harpies.

    -O

  • #4
    4ognard
    The Great Druid (Lvl 17)

    TerraDave's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    A Nation's Capitol
    Posts
    6,948
    Gygax MagazineI Defended The Walls!

    ° Ignore TerraDave
    Thanks!

    Why, it is Kruthiks. And the very nature of the aura, 2 damage in a "horde" type effect, seemed to imply it stacked.

    Of course, we have to remember that other aura stuff does not (right?). Starting to feel more and more like 3.5, but I guess that is a topic for another thread.
    Looking to play 5E in DC, click here!
    A semi-brief History of D&D and some other RPGs: Part 1: 1967-1979 Part 2: 1980-1989

  • #5
    Registered User
    Scout (Lvl 6)

    Dr_Ruminahui's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    Posts
    926

    ° Ignore Dr_Ruminahui
    As a note, MM3 does not contain the post erratta rules for zones and auras.

  • #6
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)



    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Hemet, CA
    Posts
    3

    ° Ignore Frank Jamison
    A swarm of baby kruthiks ate my 1st level monk!

    It was a sad day.

  • #7
    Registered User
    Lama (Lvl 13)



    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Heidesheim
    Posts
    4,248
    I Defended The Walls!

    ° Ignore UngeheuerLich
    Quote Originally Posted by TerraDave View Post
    Thanks!

    Why, it is Kruthiks. And the very nature of the aura, 2 damage in a "horde" type effect, seemed to imply it stacked.

    Of course, we have to remember that other aura stuff does not (right?). Starting to feel more and more like 3.5, but I guess that is a topic for another thread.
    Don┤t think it is hard to remember...

    damage stacks, conditions from the same game item don┤t stack. (which nicely fits in with the other erratum)

  • #8
    Registered User
    Scout (Lvl 6)

    DarkLord Of DForce's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Prestonsburg, KY USA
    Posts
    439

    ° Ignore DarkLord Of DForce
    So to make sure, its just the damage that stacks, and not conditions like -2 to hit or -2 to defenses, ect?

    Thanks!
    Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
    An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org

  • #9
    Registered User
    Scout (Lvl 6)

    Markn's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Grande Prairie, Canada
    Posts
    1,146

    ° Ignore Markn
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkLord Of DForce View Post
    So to make sure, its just the damage that stacks, and not conditions like -2 to hit or -2 to defenses, ect?

    Thanks!
    Correct! Only damage stacks. Conditions do not.

  • #10
    Registered User
    Lama (Lvl 13)



    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Heidesheim
    Posts
    4,248
    I Defended The Walls!

    ° Ignore UngeheuerLich
    Imagine 10 minions with -2 to hit auras... not very funny...

  • + Log in or register to post
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. quick bonus stack question
      By Chainsaw in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: Friday, 29th January, 2010, 11:04 PM
    2. Ongoing damage and auras: do they stack?
      By the Jester in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 13
      Last Post: Tuesday, 24th February, 2009, 06:48 PM
    3. Do multiple pain devils' auras stack?
      By Asmor in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: Friday, 2nd January, 2009, 09:44 AM
    4. Quick Question on Damage
      By Dr. Strangemonkey in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: Monday, 23rd June, 2008, 07:59 AM
    5. Quick question... Does Fast Healing stack from seperate sources?
      By RigaMortus2 in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: Monday, 13th August, 2007, 04:54 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •