2e retro clone?

Vengers_Dad

First Post
Heard word leaked of this: Somehow, You Found Us Before We Opened Shop :)

Apparently, they were planning to surprise us 2E players with a clone on July 15th. The site is still new. (Actually, they don't slate it as a clone, they call it a remake.)

It actually looks very good from what I saw and read (I want more info, though) and it seems commercial and serious. The cover is just breathtaking.

I don't post here, but saw this and read a bunch about people asking whether one was coming out. I'm in, so I figured I would post.

nexgen

First Post
Hello

Hi,

I actually wrote the game. We caught wind at the forum that someone put this up. (The poster is thanked, but has nothing to do with us or the project.)

We'll draft up a full press release now. It was our intent to do one soon anyway. This sort of lit the fire under us, so to speak.

Go over to the forums at Somehow, You Found Us Before We Opened Shop :). I'm an admin and trying hard to get things right. Whatever your take is on the Second Edition, know that we poured a lot into this. We treasured that game and we hope we did it justice.

BTW: it's not a clone ;)

Vengers_Dad

First Post
You're welcome. Hope it didn't blow things up.
I'm looking forward to this, signed up at the forums.
I played AD&D 2E for six years before 3E and I waited for this sort of thing.

Doc_Klueless

Doors and Corners
Why are you waiting for this sort of thing? Did the 2e books stop working?
My guess is that he's hoping the new game corrects some of the things he didn't like, sticks in some things he does like and comes in a nice shiny new book.

Though there are only a couple of "development" posts there, I like how the did up their version of THAC0 and a couple of other bits. This doesn't appear to be a strict clone or remake, but 2e with some tweaks and slight rules changes.