Insight's "The Silent Partner" [1920s] OOC Thread

Insight

Adventurer
"THE SILENT PARTNER" - 1920S CALL OF CTHULHU - OOC THREAD
I've changed this to an official OOC / Recruitment thread.

IC Thread
RG Thread

We'll be doing this in the late 1920s, starting in Hollywood. This story starts in the spring of 1929. Your characters (see below) are in some way connected, in perhaps the most ancillary way, to the burgeoning film industry. You (the player) do not need to be conversant on the ins and outs of early filmmaking -- I know I'm no expert. Just get a sense of what's been going on and we'll take it from there.

An important point is that the big stock market crash has not happened yet. This is technically still the "Roaring Twenties", but only for a little while longer. Thus, references to the Great Depression and such would be premature.

Here is a brief timeline of world events and film industry related stuff leading up to the start of the game, which is March 31, 1929:

[sblock=Prohibition]
The following is from Wikipedia Article on Prohibition in the United States

Prohibition in the United States, also known as The Noble Experiment, was the period from 1919 to 1933, during which the sale, manufacture, and transportation of alcohol were banned nationally as mandated in the Eighteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution.

The United States Senate proposed the Eighteenth Amendment on December 18, 1917. Having been approved by 36 states, the 18th Amendment was ratified on January 16, 1919 and effected on January 17, 1920. Some state legislatures had already enacted statewide prohibition prior to the ratification of the 18th Amendment.