D&D 3E/3.5 3.5: newb needs a little help with Hellfire Warlock build

Hexer

First Post
Hi everyone, I'm new to the boards so if what I'm asking has already been well-covered (at least I didnt find it), please feel free to just point me in the right direction :)

I'm still pretty new to D&D 3.5 and pen&paper roleplaying in general (the game I'm currently in is my first one except a try some time back that only lasted like 2 sessions). Of course that also means I might be asking for something well known that I just didnt stumble across yet so dont kill me in that case ;)

On to my question:
I'm building a pretty straight up Warlock + Hellfire Warlock char.
Can you suggest any good ways to keep the constitution damage from hellfire use under control?

We are only using core books + the completes. As far as I gathered, that doesnt allow me to use the class combinations that are sometimes used to overcome the problem in question and I also dont want to build a cross-5-class-powergaming-pissing-my-GM-off character anyways. Its not a powergaming group, half of our party would probably be totally lost in something like that anyways since 2 more of us are basically newbies, too (+ 3 experienced players).
Some might ask how I get to use the Hellfire Warlock PrC in the first place cause its not in any of those books. My GMlet me use it because the class can be found online and its kind of the thing I have in mind for this char.

so... what are your suggestions as to how to keep CON damage at bay a bit with a char like that?

Thank you!

Last edited:

Aplixis

First Post
Hi one of the players in my campaign is also currently playing a hellfire warlock so i might have a little insight for you.

put max ranks in UMD and carry some wands of lesser restoration. (that is what he is currently doing)

some other ideas are (i know you cant use this book but...)

take one level of Binder (tome of magic) and pick the vestige Naberius (i think) you heal stat damage every round.