My PF Questions - Page 9




+ Log in or register to post
Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst 123456789101112 LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 117

Thread: My PF Questions

  1. #81
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)

    Malgwyn's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    146

    ø Ignore Malgwyn
    I have a Class Skill that is designated ‘Trained Only’, but I have not put any ranks into it. can I still use the skill?

 

  • #82
    Registered User COPPER SUBSCRIBER
    Scout (Lvl 6)

    SteelDraco's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Topeka, KS
    Posts
    1,039

    ø Ignore SteelDraco
    There are no public plans for a new edition, and it's my understanding that they've stated they don't want to do one for a pretty long while.

    Based on http://paizo.com/products/btpy88yj?P...-Core-Rulebook, I believe they're on the fifth printing of the Core Rulebook.

    Regarding trained-only skills, no, you can't use a trained-only skill you haven't put points into. That's the definition of trained-only. Any skill checks you make automatically fail.
    http://steeldraco.wordpress.com: Pathfinder and Savage Worlds blog

  • #83
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)

    Malgwyn's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    146

    ø Ignore Malgwyn
    Quote Originally Posted by SteelDraco View Post
    There are no public plans for a new edition, and it's my understanding that they've stated they don't want to do one for a pretty long while.

    Based on http://paizo.com/products/btpy88yj?P...-Core-Rulebook, I believe they're on the fifth printing of the Core Rulebook.

    Regarding trained-only skills, no, you can't use a trained-only skill you haven't put points into. That's the definition of trained-only. Any skill checks you make automatically fail.
    Ok thanks for the information.

    I was a bit confused with the 'Trained Only' skill, because it was a Class Skill for my character.

  • #84
    Pathfinder subscriber COPPER SUBSCRIBER
    Grandfather of Assassins (Lvl 19)

    billd91's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Verona, WI
    Posts
    8,782
    I Defended The Walls!

    ø Ignore billd91
    Quote Originally Posted by Malgwyn View Post
    I was a bit confused with the 'Trained Only' skill, because it was a Class Skill for my character.
    The class skill aspect makes it easier for you to be good at it... once you've invested any training at all. You get a free +3 for being trained in a class skill bonus when you invest your first skill rank into it. That's something that other characters who don't have that skill as a class skill cannot get.
    Bill D

    "There's a fine line between a superpower and a chronic medical condition."
    - Doctor Impossible

  • #85
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)

    Malgwyn's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    146

    ø Ignore Malgwyn
    Don't mean to be a pain here, but the xp award on PAGE 398 is still bothering me. To recap...

    Using the chart, 4 CR8 creatures (worth 4,800 XP each) are equivalent to a CR 12 creature (worth 19,200 XP).

    Nice and simple, the math works perfectly: 4,800 x 4 = 19,200.

    Using the same formula, table 12.3 tells me that 6CR creatures should have a value equal to CR+5. But as mentioned, when I use this formula (multiplying 6 CR creatures at 19,200 xp) I get 115,200 xp and not 102,400 as shown on the table.

    I've been told it's just a guideline, but that's a massive difference in xp I'm handing out there; almost 13,000. That's not something I can just sweep under the carpet so to speak.

  • #86
    Pathfinder subscriber COPPER SUBSCRIBER
    Grandfather of Assassins (Lvl 19)

    billd91's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Verona, WI
    Posts
    8,782
    I Defended The Walls!

    ø Ignore billd91
    Quote Originally Posted by Malgwyn View Post
    Using the same formula, table 12.3 tells me that 6CR creatures should have a value equal to CR+5. But as mentioned, when I use this formula (multiplying 6 CR creatures at 19,200 xp) I get 115,200 xp and not 102,400 as shown on the table.

    I've been told it's just a guideline, but that's a massive difference in xp I'm handing out there; almost 13,000. That's not something I can just sweep under the carpet so to speak.
    You notice that the table works perfectly around powers of 2. Double the creatures, add 2 to the CR of the encounter. What you also have to notice is that the math simply can't be quite as tidy for increases that aren't based on a power of 2. The approximation really is fine. The difference in XPs you're giving out isn't that massive given the numbers that PCs need to advance.

    If you want to be more strict about the XP budget, use the table to generate how many XPs the encounter will be worth and then use some mixed CR creatures to get it. And if you have a remainder in your budget after picking your main monsters, don't sweat it and drop it. It'll be close enough.
    Bill D

    "There's a fine line between a superpower and a chronic medical condition."
    - Doctor Impossible

  • #87
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)

    Malgwyn's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    146

    ø Ignore Malgwyn
    Quote Originally Posted by billd91 View Post
    You notice that the table works perfectly around powers of 2. Double the creatures, add 2 to the CR of the encounter. What you also have to notice is that the math simply can't be quite as tidy for increases that aren't based on a power of 2. The approximation really is fine. The difference in XPs you're giving out isn't that massive given the numbers that PCs need to advance.

    If you want to be more strict about the XP budget, use the table to generate how many XPs the encounter will be worth and then use some mixed CR creatures to get it. And if you have a remainder in your budget after picking your main monsters, don't sweat it and drop it. It'll be close enough.
    Good points.

    Though I'm probably looking at this from the wrong angle, I can't for the life of me think why Paizo would use such a a flaky guideline. I mean, my very first attempt at using their advice, came up with the wrong result.
    Last edited by Malgwyn; Tuesday, 3rd July, 2012 at 02:11 PM.

  • #88
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)



    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    311

    ø Ignore BobROE
    Quote Originally Posted by Malgwyn View Post
    I've been told it's just a guideline, but that's a massive difference in xp I'm handing out there; almost 13,000. That's not something I can just sweep under the carpet so to speak.
    Once you divide it by the number of players, 3250 for 4 (or 2166 for 6) it's not all that much XP when a 12th level character needs 95000XP to get from 12th to 13th.
    BobROE

    Op-amp slew-rate limiting can cause nonlinear distortion in sinusoidal waveforms

  • #89
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)

    Malgwyn's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    146

    ø Ignore Malgwyn
    Quote Originally Posted by Malgwyn View Post
    Don't mean to be a pain here, but the xp award on PAGE 398 is still bothering me. To recap...

    Using the chart, 4 CR8 creatures (worth 4,800 XP each) are equivalent to a CR 12 creature (worth 19,200 XP).

    Nice and simple, the math works perfectly: 4,800 x 4 = 19,200.

    Using the same formula, table 12.3 tells me that 6CR creatures should have a value equal to CR+5. But as mentioned, when I use this formula (multiplying 6 CR creatures at 19,200 xp) I get 115,200 xp and not 102,400 as shown on the table.
    I apologise because I think I have been a bit stupid here.

    I did the calculation on the calculator (as mentioned above), and the result wasn't the same as what's written in tabel 12-3 (on page 398). I think that's where my mistake came in.

    The calculator result doesn't need to be the same as the result in table 12-3, because the entries on table 12-3 were never meant to be exact math formula. Am I right?

    In other words, the table is right because the table gives good estimations of an encounter (which was its only purpose), and is not wrong because the calculator's result was different.

    Is that it?

    I mean, if I want to know what 8 CR 15 creatures are, just look it up on the table and forget correct formulas.
    Last edited by Malgwyn; Sunday, 8th July, 2012 at 08:27 AM.

  • #90
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)

    Malgwyn's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    146

    ø Ignore Malgwyn
    Is that right?

  • + Log in or register to post
    Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst 123456789101112 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Iaijutsu Master Questions (Monk side note questions)
      By Chronoglenn in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: Sunday, 25th April, 2010, 12:47 AM
    2. DM'ing questions
      By BiggusGeekus in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: Wednesday, 7th October, 2009, 05:25 PM
    3. Two questions.
      By FurryFighter in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 14
      Last Post: Saturday, 5th September, 2009, 12:49 AM
    4. Deft Strike - questions (and other rogue/other questions)
      By JMnITup in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 13
      Last Post: Thursday, 12th June, 2008, 03:05 AM
    5. Astronomy questions (edit: questions answered Thanks guys!)
      By BiggusGeekus in forum General RPG Discussion
      Replies: 39
      Last Post: Friday, 4th August, 2006, 04:13 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •