+ Log in or register to post
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Tuesday, 10th May, 2011, 10:44 PM #1
Guide (Lvl 11)
(D&D 3.5) Can you hide in between attacks with Hide in Plain Sight?
There are at least three ways that I can think of a character might gain Hide in Plain Sight per the core rules: 1) ranger ability, 2) assassin ability, 3) shadowdancer ability. Let's assume a character with one of these abilities is making a full attack action. Is it possible to hide in between attacks and therefore deny your opponent his Dex mod to AC for each attack (assuming the Hide checks are successful of course)? If so, how does this work mechanically? Sources would be helpful.Dancing is forbidden!
- EN World
- has no influence
- on advertisings
- that are displayed by
- Google Adsense
Wednesday, 11th May, 2011, 06:26 PM #2
Orcus on an Off-Day (Lvl 22)
From the d20 SRD on actions:
"A full-round action requires an entire round to complete. Thus, it can’t be coupled with a standard or a move action, though if it does not involve moving any distance, you can take a 5-foot step."
* Full attack is (of course) a full-round action.
Hide in Plain Sight is an Extraordinary ability for Rangers, and Supernatural for Assassins and Shadowdancers. (see the individual class descriptions)
* Using an Extraordinary ability is a standard action.
* Using a Supernatural Ability is a standard action.
Since you cannot couple a full round action with a standard action, you cannot use those abilities in the middle of a full attack.
Even if you could use the ability, the ability allows you to use Hide. Hide doesn't usually take an action in and of itself, but only because it is normally done as part of movement - and you can't take the move action while taking a full attack action either.
Wednesday, 11th May, 2011, 11:24 PM #3
Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)
- Join Date
- Feb 2005
ø Ignore domino
No. Hiding requires a move action. Even HiPS doesn't change that part, it only lets you hide without cover. You still need to use your move action. Making a full attack is a full round action, which precludes the necessary move action.
Friday, 13th May, 2011, 01:17 AM #4
Thaumaturgist (Lvl 9)
- Join Date
- Apr 2011
ø Ignore Jimlock
Yes you can. you just have to take a -20 Hide check (as a free action) while attacking, so as to know whether you are effectively hidden for you next attack.
Sunday, 15th May, 2011, 04:04 PM #5
Enchanter (Lvl 12)
- Join Date
- Jul 2005
- Anna, Illinois
ø Ignore Thunderfoot
Barring Jimlock's example there is another way. You never stated that the attacks were in consecutive rounds, so attack, hide, attack over three rounds. Your conditions are met albeit probably not in the spirit of your question. but as you asked it, yes, it is possible.
Headmaster of Metal School
"I may be unconscious, but at least I still look good!" - - Me (at the Halfling Musketeers game GenCon '06)
On one hand, taking away their weapons is a dead giveaway that they will need them. On the other hand, by the time conflict starts the players will already have opened the rulebooks and found the parts that deal with bare-handed combat, performing disarm moves, and using improvised weapons. Players may blunder through dialog with shocking ineptitude, forget the name of the country they are in, or get confused about which side they are on, but once it comes time to roll for initiative they all turn into Sun Tzu. - Shamus Young DM of the Rings
By marune in forum D&D and PathfinderReplies: 16Last Post: Tuesday, 15th November, 2005, 01:12 AM
By Markn in forum D&D and PathfinderReplies: 25Last Post: Tuesday, 30th August, 2005, 04:28 AM
By Timely Drought in forum D&D and PathfinderReplies: 15Last Post: Monday, 20th June, 2005, 10:24 AM
By Aluvial in forum D&D and PathfinderReplies: 38Last Post: Tuesday, 10th May, 2005, 06:43 PM
By LifebaneSoulshadow in forum D&D and PathfinderReplies: 24Last Post: Wednesday, 26th May, 2004, 01:10 AM