Monday, 6th February, 2012, 03:12 AM #1
Waghalter (Lvl 7)
- Join Date
- Oct 2003
ø Ignore Mewness
Rules Question: Psionic Hybrids and Power Selection
According to the rules for hybrid characters who have power points on one side and no power points on the other (pp 137-138 in the PHB3), such a character selects "encounter attack" powers as follows:
Level 1: take either the hybrid PP option (which gives you some PPs, but no additional powers) or take a level 1 encounter attack power from your no-PP class. I.e., if you take the hybrid PP option, you effectively upgrade your augmentable at-will power to "encounter attack power" status.
Level 3: If you took the hybrid PP option at level 1, you now take a 1st or 3rd level encounter power from your non-PP class. If you took an encounter power at level 1, you now take the hybrid PP option and swap your level 1 PP at-will for a level 3 at-will if you like.
Now, I have an Avenger|Battlemind who took the hybrid PP option at level 1, and an avenger power at level 3. The thing is, both the old CB and the new CB insist that I can also swap my level 1 battlemind at-will for a level 3 battlemind at-will. (In fact, the old CB gets kind of snippy if I don't make the swap.) This is expressly allowed in the rules if you take hybrid PP at level 3, but not if you do it at level 1.
My own feeling is that both the CBs are wrong here, and that the swap should only be allowed if you take hybrid PP at level 3. To me, having both a level 3 augmentable at-will and a level 3 encounter power seems like having two 3rd-level encounter powers, which a 3rd level character cannot do ordinarily. But one person has already disagreed with me, so I'd like to hear others' opinions. Were it considered legitimate, I would happily make the swap, but I assumed it was illegal.
What do people think?Papolstaanas (babbling kobold); Pharodeys (living statue); Scarmiglione (singing kenku)
- EN World
- has no influence
- on advertisings
- that are displayed by
- Google Adsense
Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)
- Join Date
- Jun 2008
ø Ignore WEContact
You are correct, both CBs are incorrect.
Guide (Lvl 11)
- Join Date
- Jun 2002
ø Ignore Someone
You're right, if you choose the 1st level psionic augmentation option you can't change your at will at 3rd level, which is very explicit by the phb3 rules.
By Dannyalcatraz in forum D&D and PathfinderReplies: 19Last Post: Tuesday, 29th June, 2010, 11:50 PM
By Davelozzi in forum D&D and PathfinderReplies: 2Last Post: Friday, 24th January, 2003, 04:33 PM
By DizzyKungFu in forum D&D and PathfinderReplies: 52Last Post: Thursday, 12th December, 2002, 04:29 AM
By Aluvial in forum D&D and PathfinderReplies: 4Last Post: Sunday, 24th November, 2002, 05:21 PM
By Emongnome in forum D&D and PathfinderReplies: 1Last Post: Sunday, 13th October, 2002, 12:34 PM