D&D 4th Edition [OOC Discussion] A Call for Lovers (DM: jbear Judge??) - Page 23




What's on your mind?

  1. #221
    Registered User
    Lama (Lvl 13)

    jbear's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Online
    Posts
    4,005

    ° Ignore jbear
    Quote Originally Posted by Daeja View Post
    Something that weirdly didn't click for me earlier... Better to use my standard action to hit the crew, presuming I can hit them, and then move the two squares... right? Because then we have damage to the crew + I move the same amount as if I'd double-moved.

    Or, really, to attempt the acrobatics move, then attack if it fails, and get the extra move if the attack succeeds... So many options!
    Yes a standard action to attack, if it hits, buys you two moves.
    Then you still have a move and Minor. Using an Action Point to attack again would buy you another 2, which would take you back onto the Dolphin.

    Oh, and if Wat lands his blast power on the crew then everyone (except Themes) gets a free move (not action, move 1 square I mean)

    And I think Rain has moved towards the Captain, so she's now in G3 or G4, unless someone has a way of granting her an attack bonus to turn her miss into a hit.
    'I am a predator...the predator improves the race...I kill but not out of hate.'
    Frank Herbert: Emperor God of Dune

 

  • #222
    Registered User
    Magsman (Lvl 14)

    Nemesis Destiny's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,526

    ° Ignore Nemesis Destiny
    Quote Originally Posted by jbear View Post
    And I think Rain has moved towards the Captain, so she's now in G3 or G4, unless someone has a way of granting her an attack bonus to turn her miss into a hit.
    If you're going to allow me to cheese it post-attack, I can grant said bonus if I hit with an attack of my own.

    Also, I had a question for you about how action points might interact with my bard at-wills. If I use one of my bard at wills which allows me to grant a bonus to an ally before the end of my next turn, and I then action point to attack, am I my own ally? Can I grant myself the bonus for my AP attack (which would then allow me to grant an ally a bonus again if the AP attack hit)?

  • #223
    Registered User
    Lama (Lvl 13)

    jbear's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Online
    Posts
    4,005

    ° Ignore jbear
    Quote Originally Posted by Nemesis Destiny View Post
    If you're going to allow me to cheese it post-attack, I can grant said bonus if I hit with an attack of my own.

    Also, I had a question for you about how action points might interact with my bard at-wills. If I use one of my bard at wills which allows me to grant a bonus to an ally before the end of my next turn, and I then action point to attack, am I my own ally? Can I grant myself the bonus for my AP attack (which would then allow me to grant an ally a bonus again if the AP attack hit)?
    In general I think Leader powers that affect allies and the leader as well say so in their own power description. Otherwise they only affect allies.

    But yeah, I have no problem retrospectively giving a bonus to Rain in this situation. You still have to hit.
    'I am a predator...the predator improves the race...I kill but not out of hate.'
    Frank Herbert: Emperor God of Dune

  • #224
    Registered User
    Magsman (Lvl 14)

    Nemesis Destiny's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,526

    ° Ignore Nemesis Destiny
    Quote Originally Posted by jbear View Post
    In general I think Leader powers that affect allies and the leader as well say so in their own power description. Otherwise they only affect allies.
    That's probably the intent, and fair. It didn't end up mattering anyway

    But yeah, I have no problem retrospectively giving a bonus to Rain in this situation. You still have to hit.
    That's good, because I already posted assuming this was the case. I just wanted to be 100% clear on this. And it took an action point, but I did manage to hit.

  • #225
    Registered User
    Gallant (Lvl 3)



    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    867

    ° Ignore Neil1889
    It'll be useful, as if I can hit I can slide an extra square and maybe edit in an action and use a minor to mark the captain (if that theory is OK with jbear).

  • #226
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)



    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    127

    ° Ignore LordGraz'zt
    Kartuus will wait to see the caster and Captains reactions to Wat's call of surrender before acting.

  • #227
    Registered User
    Lama (Lvl 13)

    jbear's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Online
    Posts
    4,005

    ° Ignore jbear
    @LordGraz'zt The Captain is eyeing up Sabynha and Themes with death in his eyes. The shugenja you don't know.
    'I am a predator...the predator improves the race...I kill but not out of hate.'
    Frank Herbert: Emperor God of Dune

  • #228
    Registered User
    Lama (Lvl 13)

    jbear's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Online
    Posts
    4,005

    ° Ignore jbear
    @Neil1889 Okay. Lesson learnt on allowing a ret con. Go ahead. This will be the last time I allow a ret con like this though. It just gets too messy otherwise, and I'm not keen to go down that track.
    'I am a predator...the predator improves the race...I kill but not out of hate.'
    Frank Herbert: Emperor God of Dune

  • #229
    Registered User
    Scout (Lvl 6)



    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Fitchburg, Massachusetts, United States
    Posts
    2,068

    ° Ignore Son of Meepo
    @Daeja, Wat finished off the crew on his action, so there was none left to attack Zuri on her turn. So I don't think you take that attack from the crew.

  • #230
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)



    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    147

    ° Ignore Daeja
    My communities:

    Oh!
    Sorry, I thought that rule 5 in the Malenkirk Conventions that jbear posted in the adventure thread meant that because of the non-order nature of the turns, effects/attacks like that should still be applied, regardless of when you get to posting. (I also applied 1d6+3 instead of 1d6+1 for that reason....)

  • + Log in or register to post
    Page 23 of 69 FirstFirst ... 131415161718192021222324252627282930313233 ... LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 1548
      Last Post: Thursday, 31st July, 2014, 10:02 AM
    2. Psionics Lovers: Hyperconscious/Untapped Potential Discussion
      By Nonlethal Force in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 13
      Last Post: Thursday, 31st May, 2007, 10:28 PM
    3. Call of Cthulhu discussion forum--where?
      By Vindicator in forum General RPG Discussion
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: Sunday, 27th June, 2004, 08:12 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •