D&D 3rd Edition / 3.5 3.5 when are you no longer flat-footed




+ Log in or register to post
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Registered User


    Dimwhit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    City of Trees, Idaho
    Posts
    2,774

    Ý Ignore Dimwhit

    3.5 when are you no longer flat-footed

    So at the start of a combat, you are flat footed until you act in the round. The question is, are you flat footed until the End of your turn that round, or just until you start to act on that round?
    All right, all right, I apologize. I'm really, really sorry. I apologize unreservedly. I offer a complete and utter retraction. The imputation was totally without basis in fact and was in no way fair comment, and was motivated purely by malice, and I deeply regret any distress that my comments may have caused you or your family, and I hereby undertake not to repeat any such slander at any time in the future.

  2. #2
    Pathfinder subscriber COPPER SUBSCRIBER
    Grandfather of Assassins (Lvl 19)

    billd91's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Verona, WI
    Posts
    8,772
    I Defended The Walls!

    Ý Ignore billd91
    Start.
    Bill D

    "There's a fine line between a superpower and a chronic medical condition."
    - Doctor Impossible

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Myrmidon (Lvl 10)

    Empirate's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Heidelberg, Germany
    Posts
    1,867

    Ý Ignore Empirate
    From the SRD:

    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    Flat-Footed

    At the start of a battle, before you have had a chance to act (specifically, before your first regular turn in the initiative order), you are flat-footed.
    So when you have the chance to act, i.e. on your first turn, you lose the flat-footed condition. So you wouldn't, for example, lose your Dex bonus to AC against attacks of opportunity you provoke during your first turn (unless you're balancing or something).

  4. #4
    Registered User


    Dimwhit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    City of Trees, Idaho
    Posts
    2,774

    Ý Ignore Dimwhit
    Quote Originally Posted by Empirate View Post
    From the SRD:



    So when you have the chance to act, i.e. on your first turn, you lose the flat-footed condition. So you wouldn't, for example, lose your Dex bonus to AC against attacks of opportunity you provoke during your first turn (unless you're balancing or something).
    That's exactly the situation. Our DM does EVERYTHING with DM Genie, and DM Genie keeps you flat-footed until the END of your turn, so for AoOs we provoke on that first round, we're flat-footed.

    I keep telling him DM Genie is screwed up in more than one place...
    All right, all right, I apologize. I'm really, really sorry. I apologize unreservedly. I offer a complete and utter retraction. The imputation was totally without basis in fact and was in no way fair comment, and was motivated purely by malice, and I deeply regret any distress that my comments may have caused you or your family, and I hereby undertake not to repeat any such slander at any time in the future.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Myrmidon (Lvl 10)

    Empirate's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Heidelberg, Germany
    Posts
    1,867

    Ý Ignore Empirate
    He who useth software to DM a game of D&D,
    Needeth he an iPhone app to roll dice?
    Useth he the audiobook version of the PHB to read it?
    Needeth he a robot to bind his shoelaces?
    Verily, retarded be he who can not interpret simple lines in a rulebook without the 'aid' of an engineered apparatus!
    Cast out the heathen piece of software,
    And returneth thou to the pure gaming table,
    Which containeth nought that is electronic in nature!

    Thus speaketh a wise old grognard, that thou might listen to his words and do as he commandeth!

  6. #6
    Registered User


    Dimwhit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    City of Trees, Idaho
    Posts
    2,774

    Ý Ignore Dimwhit
    Quote Originally Posted by Empirate View Post
    He who useth software to DM a game of D&D,
    Needeth he an iPhone app to roll dice?
    Useth he the audiobook version of the PHB to read it?
    Needeth he a robot to bind his shoelaces?
    Verily, retarded be he who can not interpret simple lines in a rulebook without the 'aid' of an engineered apparatus!
    Cast out the heathen piece of software,
    And returneth thou to the pure gaming table,
    Which containeth nought that is electronic in nature!

    Thus speaketh a wise old grognard, that thou might listen to his words and do as he commandeth!
    Heh, nice!

    I've railed against DM Genie to no avail. I'm outnumbered.
    All right, all right, I apologize. I'm really, really sorry. I apologize unreservedly. I offer a complete and utter retraction. The imputation was totally without basis in fact and was in no way fair comment, and was motivated purely by malice, and I deeply regret any distress that my comments may have caused you or your family, and I hereby undertake not to repeat any such slander at any time in the future.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Myrmidon (Lvl 10)

    Vegepygmy's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    95991
    Posts
    1,788

    Ý Ignore Vegepygmy
    Quote Originally Posted by Dimwhit View Post
    That's exactly the situation. Our DM does EVERYTHING with DM Genie, and DM Genie keeps you flat-footed until the END of your turn, so for AoOs we provoke on that first round, we're flat-footed.
    Oh, well. Your DM effectively has a stupid house rule. Not much you can do about it, and some would argue that rogues really need the power boost, anyway.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)

    irdeggman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Virginia USA
    Posts
    4,738

    Ý Ignore irdeggman
    Supporting evidence from the FAQ

    The knightís code (PH2 27) says that a knight cannot strike
    a flat-footed foe, but arenít all foes flat-footed in the first
    round of combat if their initiative is lower than yours? Does
    this mean that a knight cannot strike an opponent in the
    first round without violating his code?


    Yes and yes. A knight who routinely rolls high initiative
    scores should consider readying attacks to be triggered by an
    enemyís action. Once the enemyís turn has begun, heís no
    longer flat-footed (even if your readied action interrupts the
    first action of his turn)
    .
    Duane Eggert

    Claim your Birthright!!!
    http://www.birthright.net/

+ Log in or register to post

Similar Threads

  1. Flat-Footed
    By Water Bob in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
    Replies: 259
    Last Post: Wednesday, 27th July, 2011, 10:12 PM
  2. Flat-Footed
    By sjmiller in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: Thursday, 11th May, 2006, 12:30 PM
  3. Was Qui-Gon Flat footed?
    By Romus in forum General RPG Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Friday, 16th January, 2004, 02:23 AM
  4. Flat Footed...
    By Super_Troll in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Friday, 28th February, 2003, 06:22 PM
  5. Flat footed
    By Macbrea in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Thursday, 2nd May, 2002, 12:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •