+ Log in or register to post
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Sunday, 7th October, 2012, 04:43 PM #1
Need help with a dispute re: Druids and shared spells
We have a debate going on in our group about a Druid's ability to share spells with him animal companion.
The short of it is, does the animal companion have to meet prerequisites of the spell, or is it only the Druid that does? Understanding, of course, that the description says spells that don't normally affect creatures of the Animal type still work on the animal companion. (Though I think that applies to spells cast directly on the companion.)
The exact situation is the Druid in our party casting Luminous Armor on himself (from BoED) and having it affect the companion. The requirement of the spell is that it must be cast on a creature of Good alignment. The companion is neutral.
Side A argues that the Druid is the target of the spell, not the animal companion. The companion simply gets to share the effect of the spell, so as long as the Druid meets the requirement, the companion benefits.
Side B argues that the animal companion has to meet the prerequisites of the spell to get the affect. Except for the exception that allows spells not normally affecting Animal types to work on the animal companion.
Which side is correct?All right, all right, I apologize. I'm really, really sorry. I apologize unreservedly. I offer a complete and utter retraction. The imputation was totally without basis in fact and was in no way fair comment, and was motivated purely by malice, and I deeply regret any distress that my comments may have caused you or your family, and I hereby undertake not to repeat any such slander at any time in the future.
- EN World
- has no influence
- on advertisings
- that are displayed by
- Google Adsense
Sunday, 7th October, 2012, 05:43 PM #2
The Grand Druid (Lvl 20)
Monday, 8th October, 2012, 02:49 AM #3
Cutpurse (Lvl 5)
RAW agrees with Side-A.
"At the druid’s option, she may have any spell (but not any spell-like ability) she casts upon herself also affect her animal companion. .... A druid and her animal companion can share spells even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the companion’s type (animal)."
Monday, 8th October, 2012, 04:51 AM #4
Defender (Lvl 8)
Side A, and I'd cite exactly the lines jefgorbach just cited.
Monday, 8th October, 2012, 05:32 AM #5
Myrmidon (Lvl 10)
Not precisely clear, but Side A has the stronger argument.
Monday, 8th October, 2012, 10:56 AM #6
Myrmidon (Lvl 10)
Hmm... in spite of the rules quotation seeming to support side A, I'd say it actually supports side B:
If they took the trouble of pointing out that type difference makes no matter, but didn't do so for alignment as well (or other possible factors, such as size, special qualities etc.), then I'd say alignment and other factors are explicitly not covered by Share Spells.
So you can share a spell even if it normally doesn't affect Animal type creatures. But you cannot share a spell if there exists some other way in which the animal companion would not be subject to that spell.
By Olaf the Stout in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & DiscussionReplies: 6Last Post: Thursday, 17th January, 2008, 01:10 PM
By Ogrork the Mighty in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & DiscussionReplies: 17Last Post: Tuesday, 7th August, 2007, 11:41 AM
By the_mighty_agrippa in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & DiscussionReplies: 4Last Post: Monday, 14th November, 2005, 05:10 PM
By SongCoyote in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & DiscussionReplies: 4Last Post: Tuesday, 17th August, 2004, 06:22 AM
By FlimFlam in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & DiscussionReplies: 14Last Post: Thursday, 12th December, 2002, 05:37 PM