D&D 3rd Edition / 3.5 Need help with a dispute re: Druids and shared spells


What's on your mind?

+ Log in or register to post
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User


    Dimwhit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    City of Trees, Idaho
    Posts
    2,774
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Dimwhit
    My communities:

    Need help with a dispute re: Druids and shared spells

    We have a debate going on in our group about a Druid's ability to share spells with him animal companion.

    The short of it is, does the animal companion have to meet prerequisites of the spell, or is it only the Druid that does? Understanding, of course, that the description says spells that don't normally affect creatures of the Animal type still work on the animal companion. (Though I think that applies to spells cast directly on the companion.)

    The exact situation is the Druid in our party casting Luminous Armor on himself (from BoED) and having it affect the companion. The requirement of the spell is that it must be cast on a creature of Good alignment. The companion is neutral.

    Side A argues that the Druid is the target of the spell, not the animal companion. The companion simply gets to share the effect of the spell, so as long as the Druid meets the requirement, the companion benefits.

    Side B argues that the animal companion has to meet the prerequisites of the spell to get the affect. Except for the exception that allows spells not normally affecting Animal types to work on the animal companion.

    Which side is correct?
    All right, all right, I apologize. I'm really, really sorry. I apologize unreservedly. I offer a complete and utter retraction. The imputation was totally without basis in fact and was in no way fair comment, and was motivated purely by malice, and I deeply regret any distress that my comments may have caused you or your family, and I hereby undertake not to repeat any such slander at any time in the future.

 

  • #2
    Registered User
    A 1e title so awesome it's not in the book (Lvl 21)

    the Jester's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Shingletown, CA 96088
    Posts
    21,519
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore the Jester
    My communities:

    Interesting dispute.

    I'd rule that the animal got to benefit; the spell is not "cast upon" it.
    the Jester

    The Monster Project

    Buy my first self-published weird sci-fi novel from Amazon here!

  • #3
    Registered User
    Cutpurse (Lvl 5)



    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    605
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore jefgorbach
    My communities:

    RAW agrees with Side-A.

    "At the druid’s option, she may have any spell (but not any spell-like ability) she casts upon herself also affect her animal companion. .... A druid and her animal companion can share spells even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the companion’s type (animal)."

  • #4
    Registered User
    Defender (Lvl 8)

    Sekhmet's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dahlgren Center for Combat Systems, VA
    Posts
    1,576
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Sekhmet
    My communities:

    Side A, and I'd cite exactly the lines jefgorbach just cited.

  • #5
    Registered User
    Myrmidon (Lvl 10)

    Vegepygmy's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    95991
    Posts
    1,803
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Vegepygmy
    Not precisely clear, but Side A has the stronger argument.

  • #6
    Registered User
    Myrmidon (Lvl 10)

    Empirate's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Heidelberg, Germany
    Posts
    1,867
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Empirate
    My communities:

    Hmm... in spite of the rules quotation seeming to support side A, I'd say it actually supports side B:

    If they took the trouble of pointing out that type difference makes no matter, but didn't do so for alignment as well (or other possible factors, such as size, special qualities etc.), then I'd say alignment and other factors are explicitly not covered by Share Spells.

    So you can share a spell even if it normally doesn't affect Animal type creatures. But you cannot share a spell if there exists some other way in which the animal companion would not be subject to that spell.

  • + Log in or register to post

    Similar Threads

    1. Bite of the XXX Spells and Wildshaped Druids
      By Olaf the Stout in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: Thursday, 17th January, 2008, 02:10 PM
    2. When a Spellcaster Dies and Shared Spells
      By Ogrork the Mighty in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 17
      Last Post: Tuesday, 7th August, 2007, 12:41 PM
    3. Growth Spells & Druids
      By the_mighty_agrippa in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: Monday, 14th November, 2005, 06:10 PM
    4. Shared Spells Adjudication
      By SongCoyote in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: Tuesday, 17th August, 2004, 07:22 AM
    5. Clarification on Shared Spells for a Paladin's Mount...
      By FlimFlam in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 14
      Last Post: Thursday, 12th December, 2002, 06:37 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •