Intro: New player on the board, and to the game!

I could not find an intro forum, so I guess I'll post here.

I'm new to DnD, for the most-part. I played a round once back in high school, 20 years ago. The DM was a bit of a problem, so I never returned.

Now I found a new friend who also played many years ago, and we're interested in getting some games started. Both of us are very un-practiced, but we're having fun giving it a shot!

So far I've gotten the 1E DMG reprint, and the 1E MM is in the mail. Though I will be getting the 1E PHB soon, he still has his original PHB.

I've found that holding his PHB (sounds dirty :]) actually seems to elicit some interesting feelings of awe and nostalgia of the old days, that I have not felt when looking upon or holding anything newer.

I have an account on the wizards forums also. When I ask questions I get great answers. But there seems to be something missing, like the warmth of a nice fire in the woods. I'm hoping I can feel something a bit more here. B-)

Also, just a little show-off; in all my excitement to be able to play a game I haven't had time for in so many years, I made this dice bag. I was going for a specific look and feel, medieval. The fabric is felt, the thread is hemp, and the pull string is whipped. If I find a clasp that's more in line with the theme, I'll replace the one I have on there now.

Attachments

• Dice Bag 2 800x600.jpg
    Dice Bag 2 800x600.jpg
    115 KB · Views: 72
  • Dice Bag 1 800x600.jpg
    Dice Bag 1 800x600.jpg
    88.3 KB · Views: 57