D&D 4th Edition [ooc] He Chained Their Minds - Page 2




+ Log in or register to post
Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 108
  1. #11
    Oooh, while I'm at it, how much fire damage would I take per turn if I were to hover IN the fire? And would it hurt someone else if they tried to attack me while Iw as there or give me partial cover or concealment or something (blend in since I have my own fiery corona?)
    Vander (Pixie Monk 6), Graven (Warforged Swordmage|Wizard 3), Everlin (Human Skald 3)

 

  • #12
    Registered User
    Gallant (Lvl 3)

    CrimsonFlameWielder's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    26035 Moulton Parkway #140, Laguna Hills, CA 92653
    Posts
    936

    Ignore CrimsonFlameWielder
    The darkness does, in fact, suppress the dim light, since the darkness is magical. As for the camp-fire... well, you would have to be literally standing in the fire on the ground (altitude 0), because it is only a small thing (just enough to keep the group warm when close to it) in order to get burned by it (1d6 damage to any creature that enters the fire's square or starts its turn in the fire). At altitude 1 (1 square above the fire) the damage is reduced to 1d4 to any creature one square above the fire square (entering or starting their turn there).

    The meager amount of smoke would not grant any concealment.

  • #13
    I'm not asking about the smoke concealing me, I mean actually being in the flames since I'm surrounded by a fire aura to blend in. I have 5 fire resist, so if that were the case and/or someone attacking me got hurt by the fire, it might be worth it. Being at altitude 0 to stand in the fire isn't a problem. I could argue that my dim light I emit would be magical as well, but I see no problem with the darkness being stronger than my meager magical fire aura .
    Vander (Pixie Monk 6), Graven (Warforged Swordmage|Wizard 3), Everlin (Human Skald 3)

  • #14
    Registered User
    Gallant (Lvl 3)

    CrimsonFlameWielder's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    26035 Moulton Parkway #140, Laguna Hills, CA 92653
    Posts
    936

    Ignore CrimsonFlameWielder
    Ahh, I see. You want to actually stand IN the fire... just don't roll a 6 on damage and you're immune As far as something attacking you from outside of the fire square... no damage dealt there, but if you can find a way to get something into the square with you, there you go. Your fire aura does not provide you with any concealment while in the fire, as it does not actually alter your character's appearance. If you had a power that caused your body to turn into flames, on the other hand... I would consider it, but not just a fire aura. The aura blends in... you don't.

  • #15
    Quote Originally Posted by CrimsonFlameWielder View Post
    Ahh, I see. You want to actually stand IN the fire... just don't roll a 6 on damage and you're immune As far as something attacking you from outside of the fire square... no damage dealt there, but if you can find a way to get something into the square with you, there you go. Your fire aura does not provide you with any concealment while in the fire, as it does not actually alter your character's appearance. If you had a power that caused your body to turn into flames, on the other hand... I would consider it, but not just a fire aura. The aura blends in... you don't.
    Works for me. It was worth a shot at least
    Vander (Pixie Monk 6), Graven (Warforged Swordmage|Wizard 3), Everlin (Human Skald 3)

  • #16
    Registered User
    Gallant (Lvl 3)

    CrimsonFlameWielder's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    26035 Moulton Parkway #140, Laguna Hills, CA 92653
    Posts
    936

    Ignore CrimsonFlameWielder
    Quote Originally Posted by jbear View Post
    Question: Was the power Kane was hit with a Psychic, Charm or Fear power? If so I would like to use Psychic Interference: Immediate Reaction: Time Keeper takes 10 psychic dmg
    The Step Out Of Time power does not have the Psychic, Charm, or Fear keywords, so no need for Kane to use Psychic Interference.


    Quote Originally Posted by VanderLegion View Post

    OOC: Edit: Also, because of the hit with Burning Brand, the next time RC1 is hit by an attack before the start of my next turn he and nay of my enemies adjacent to him take 7 fire damage. Out of curiosity, does Flurry count as a separate attack to trigger that damage or is it considered part of the original attack?

    Also, I moved past SS1 and I'm assuming it has a way to see in the dark (or else the darkness aura would be a bad idea for it) so I'm assuming it gets an OA. Just remember I have partial concealment for it.

    Edit2: Actually, I think the crit should have actually done 22 damage, for a total of 36 for the turn. Looking at my power blocks, I think I forgot either the iron armbands of power or my magical weapon. Should be +8 damage on the attacks (4 from modifier, 2 from armbands, 2 from ki focus), not +6 like I have on em all.
    Flurry is a separate attack, which does trigger that damage. As such, (and I love this on my Gray character who is also a Desert Wind monk) Blistering Flourish gives Flurry of Blows that +Cha bonus to damage...and for two turns no less!

    So I generally suggest the following turn sequence:
    turn 1) Blistering Flourish + Flurry;
    turn 2) Burning Brand + Flurry.

    That will net you a disgusting 3 x cha EXTRA fire damage from the 2 flurries and Burning Brand attack. And that doesn't even take into account if you have the 2nd lvl daily utility that lets you flurry again, or when you get that feat that lets you flurry again on an AP!

    Movement away from SS1 does provoke an attack, and nope, concealment doesn't apply... but only because the swarm has blindsight...muahahaha!

  • #17
    Well, in that case he and RC2 both take 7 extra damage when I use the flurry. i knew the flurry worked for the damage from Blistering Flourish (Built the monk around that, but couldn't USE BF first this combat since I needed the movement technique from Burning Brand to get in range to attack RC1 and everyone else was inside the darkness). And I do happen to have Supreme Flurry, but I'm saving that for after I actually get to use Blistering Flourish :P
    Vander (Pixie Monk 6), Graven (Warforged Swordmage|Wizard 3), Everlin (Human Skald 3)

  • #18
    Registered User
    Gallant (Lvl 3)

    CrimsonFlameWielder's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    26035 Moulton Parkway #140, Laguna Hills, CA 92653
    Posts
    936

    Ignore CrimsonFlameWielder
    Do me a favor and note that in your attack post (so I don't forget while reading through and updating my notes.

  • #19
    Registered User
    Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)

    WEContact's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    894

    Ignore WEContact
    Ugh I tried to register at invisible castle and my password doesn't work, so I told it to reset my password and send it to my email address, and I can't find that email even in my spam folder or archive. What gives? Any suggestions?


  • #20
    No clue, I've never had to reset my password there, or had issues with it in general...
    Vander (Pixie Monk 6), Graven (Warforged Swordmage|Wizard 3), Everlin (Human Skald 3)

  • + Log in or register to post
    Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. [Adventure] He Chained Their Minds (DM: CrimsonFlameWielder; Judge Needed )
      By CrimsonFlameWielder in forum Living 4th Edition
      Replies: 211
      Last Post: Friday, 31st May, 2013, 12:28 PM
    2. Chained Rays ?
      By evermind in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: Monday, 3rd September, 2007, 11:55 PM
    3. Chained Ray of Enfeeblement Question
      By Hannibal Barca in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: Sunday, 24th April, 2005, 07:08 PM
    4. [Maximized, Chained] Ray of Enfeeblement
      By Felix in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 27
      Last Post: Tuesday, 30th March, 2004, 11:43 PM
    5. Chained spell metamagic, how to use it ?
      By Doorf in forum D&D and Pathfinder
      Replies: 17
      Last Post: Wednesday, 17th July, 2002, 02:01 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •