Tales of the Arabian Nights - our first game

MerricB

Eternal Optimist
Supporter
Once upon a time, in a far off land, a young woman set out to write the Tale of Tales, a compilation of the best tales told in every land. Her name was Scheherazade...

The package that arrived today from Milsims contained two games, one was Jim Krohn’s latest wargame, Band of Brothers, the other was this one: Tales of the Arabian Nights in its latest, Z-Man edition. I’ve been playing role-playing games for about 30 years, and I’m a sucker for good stories, so I was very interested to see what the game was like. I quickly grabbed another couple of players, Mark and Jack, and we were set to begin. And then Garth and Ben arrived, and the game ended up being a five-player affair. This was a player more than I was comfortable with, but making someone sit out wasn’t really an option. And so we began, with a poor understanding of the rules, to see our adventures!

...Her initial steps were tentative, into the cities near Baghdad, where she found few tales of true merit, so she headed out for more distant lands. One day, she was caught in a fearful blizzard, which she survived only by her quick wits, but forever after she was distinguished by a shortness of breath and a tendency to tire easily...

One of the delightful aspects of the game swiftly proved to how it evoked the characters we wished to portray. My character (Scheherazade) was established as a curious, beautiful woman, quick-witted and kind to strangers. Meanwhile, Mark’s Sinbad was a far more callous character, more likely to rob an innocent stranger as help them. Garth’s Aladdin began the game far, far away from home, trying to find his way back to Baghdad, but an encounter with a Wizard left him ensorcelled – and at the mercy of the other players as to his actions.