Any useful non-combat feats, and advanced classes?

Wisp412

First Post
Hello,

I am new to DnD, and was wondering what type of non-combat optimization there is. I remember reading a "(something) walker" class somewhere that got interesting terrain lore (for what you select), and bonuses for what you picked. It would even get planar terrain at epic levels.

So are there other classes that aren't strictly made for combat, that would be interesting for party play, since out of combat things could potentially contribute alot to a non optimized party. Furthmore, if you had (or could make) an optimized build in a non optimized party, you could tone it down with such classes/ feats.

(I would generally be more interested in 3.x stuff, but honestly, since I don't really know the rules anyways I would be interested in anything suggested.)

Thank you for your time, and I apologise if this is in the wrong section.

Keldin

First Post
I remember reading a "(something) walker" class somewhere that got interesting terrain lore (for what you select), and bonuses for what you picked. It would even get planar terrain at epic levels.

You mean the Horizon Walker? The D&D version does separate it into regular terrain mastery and planar terrain mastery, but the Pathfinder version does not. It's not at epic levels either -- the D&D version allows it at the 6th level of the class -- which, if you max out Knowledge (geography) and take Endurance by 5th level, you can get at 11th character level.

So are there other classes that aren't strictly made for combat, that would be interesting for party play, since out of combat things could potentially contribute alot to a non optimized party. Furthmore, if you had (or could make) an optimized build in a non optimized party, you could tone it down with such classes/ feats.