Smartphone help for a complete noob

After serving me faithfully through 8 GenCons (well, 7, since I skipped a year), my Verizon LG flip phone is no more. I have never shopped for a smart phone, and haven't even had to worry about data plans or contracts or networks. I'm looking online for guidance, but perhaps you could offer a little advice on how this whole smartphone thing works. I'm used to phones that call people or occasionally text. I barely even take photos, since I don't think my phone had any way to transfer them to another device.

Seriously, I know less than Jon Snow. All I know is that it sounds nifty to have Cortana from Halo as my personal assistant, which would entail buying a Windows phone. Also it would be nice to be able to use consistent chargers/plugs, since I already have mini- and micro-USB, rather than needing proprietary Apple chargers.

Where do I start?

Last edited:

Umbran

Mod Squad
Staff member
Supporter
I went through much the same just a few months ago. Here are some of my personal thoughts, in not much of a particular order. I am not an expert, just a person who did this conversion, and ended up fairly happy.

First point: Don't worry about it too much. Smartphone performance is actually starting to plateau a bit - sure there are improvements, new gizmos, but for your basic use - making a call, sending a text, some basic web-communications and such - they're all snappy enough, and the ancillary features are... ancillary to your experience. Samsung, Motorola, LG, HTC, Apple - they all *work*. iOS or Android? They both *work*. Windows? Honestly I know nothing about it, and cant' speak to it.

Don't worry about cables, either. Yes, maybe you'll need new ones. Live with that. Needing a new cable or two is not a reason to avoid a phone.