Swordmage class

Nivenus

First Post
Hey there. So this is my first attempt at cooking up a class from scratch for D&D 5th edition. It's the swordmage class, which first appeared in the Forgotten Realms Player's Guide for 4th edition, although I also drew on similar archetypes like the duskblade class or bladesinger prestige class for 3rd edition while designing it. While I think the Eldritch Knight sub-class for fighters does a pretty good job at emulating the feel of an arcane warrior for 5th edition I felt some people (including one of my players, who played a swordmage in 4e and is looking to convert to 5e) might appreciate a full class dedicated to the concept.

So here you go [Link to Google Docs]

As with my tiefling rewrite I posted awhile back, this is open to feedback and criticism. I'm interested in fixing any balancing problems or other issues people might find.

Last edited:

Khaalis

Adventurer
Ok, here is my full review based on my experiences writing materials so far and some personal opinion thrown in. I look forward to your thoughts.

1) Weapon Bond - I know this is direct from the EK archetype but to customize it slightly for the swordmage, I think I'd add the ability to use the mending cantrip as a Ritual Spell on the weapon. Its a nice magic flavor and power-wise its only a cantrip.

2) Swordmage Warding - Handing out AC bonuses is a tough choice in 5E. That said, if you keep this I think I'd make it a flat +2 bonus to AC.

However, I think I'd alter this to bring in the concept of the Aegis and wrap these two abilities into one. I would make something like this (see below), to have a more magical feel right from level 1, and to be more customizable for the player. It uses the spirit of 4E with 5E mechanics. I do realize this steals the Lev7 power, but I'll get to that later. Stick with me here. :)

Swordmage Aegis