Originally posted by GladiusLegis:


Figured I'd document the ways that you can make an attack with your Reaction, who has them, how they're triggered, melee or ranged, etc. If you notice any others, feel free to chime in and I'll add it to the list.

All characters:

  • Opportunity Attack: Melee; When an enemy chooses to move away from your reach (5 ft., or 10 ft. with a reach weapon per Mearls and Crawford).
  • Commander's Strike: Melee or Ranged; when a Battle Master Fighter chooses you to attack via this maneuver.


Feats:

  • Mage Slayer: Melee; Enemy within 5 ft. of you casts a spell.
  • Martial Adept, Riposte:
    Melee; Enemy misses you with melee attack, costs 1 superiority die, does benefit from a reach weapon.
  • Polearm Master: Melee; Can make opportunity attack when an enemy enters your reach, if you're wielding glaive, halberd, pike or quarterstaff. (Per Mearls and Crawford: If the weapon has reach, you get the OA at reach.)
  • Sentinel: Melee; Can make opportunity attack even vs. Disengage; Also can attack when enemy within 5 ft. attacks someone other than you.
  • War Caster: Can cast a 1 action, single-target spell in place of an Opportunity Attack.


Classes:

  • Barbarian (Berserker), Lv. 14, Retaliation: Melee; When you take damage from enemy within 5 ft.
  • Cleric (Tempest), Lv. 1, Wrath of the Storm: Not an attack, but 2d8 auto-damage (lightning or thunder), DEX save for half; When enemy within 5 ft. hits you with an attack, WIS mod times per day.
  • Fighter (Battle Master), Lv. 3+, Riposte: Melee; Enemy misses you with melee attack, costs 1 superiority die, does benefit from a reach weapon.
  • Monk (Shadow), Lv. 17, Opportunist: Melee; Enemy within 5 ft. is hit by an attack from someone other than you.
  • Paladin (Vengeance), Lv. 15, Soul of Vengeance: Melee; Enemy under your Vow of Enmity makes an attack (regardless of whom it targets), does benefit from a reach weapon.
  • Ranger (Hunter): Lv. 3, Giant Killer: Melee (Ranged works technically, but ...); Large or larger enemy within 5 ft. hits or misses you with an attack.






Originally posted by Aelioran:


GladiusLegis wrote:

  • Opportunity Attack: Melee; When an enemy chooses to move away from your reach (5 ft.).



The War Caster feat will let you make this attack with a spell instead. Handy if you want to nail someone 4 times with your Eldritch Blast.




Originally posted by Squad:


Aelioran wrote:
GladiusLegis wrote:

  • Opportunity Attack: Melee; When an enemy chooses to move away from your reach (5 ft.).


The War Caster feat will let you make this attack with a spell instead. Handy if you want to nail someone 4 times with your Eldritch Blast.

But won't you suffer disadvantage if you're using a ranged spell attack in this case? If so, a spell without a ranged attack roll would be better.




Originally posted by Yunru:


Disadvantage yes, but you also have up to 4 chances to hit.

EDIT: With Disadvantage, you've a 1/4 chance of rolling 10+. So with 4 attacks... :P




Originally posted by Aelioran:


Squad wrote:
Aelioran wrote:
GladiusLegis wrote:

  • Opportunity Attack: Melee; When an enemy chooses to move away from your reach (5 ft.).


The War Caster feat will let you make this attack with a spell instead. Handy if you want to nail someone 4 times with your Eldritch Blast.
But won't you suffer disadvantage if you're using a ranged spell attack in this case? If so, a spell without a ranged attack roll would be better.

True, unless you had a way to give yourself advantage to cancel it. Or if you had a reach weapon possibly? I haven't looked into that.




Originally posted by the_move:


Doesn't the glaive or the pike let you do an OA if the monster is within 10 feet from you? It's a reach weapon and the OA is an attack, isn't it. So you should not get disadvantage with those, unless the monster has reach, too.




Originally posted by GladiusLegis:


the_move wroteoesn't the glaive or the pike let you do an OA if the monster is within 10 feet from you? It's a reach weapon and the OA is an attack, isn't it. So you should not get disadvantage with those, unless the monster has reach, too.

Nope, you only get reach when you actually attack with the weapon (p. 147). Which means you do not threaten with reach.




Originally posted by Yunru:


Plaguescarred wrote:FYI Both Co-Creators Mike Mearls and Jeremy Crawford confirmed on twitter that the reach property was not intended to only increase when attacking and Jeremy further clarified the distance at which a Polearm Master OA is provoked depending on the weapon wielded;


@JeremyECrawford On the grid, the target is adjacent if you're using a quarterstaff, but 5 feet away with the other PM weapons.


Originally posted by Thank_Dog:


Battlemaster Riposte.




Originally posted by Gruff_Ironfist:


Squad wrote:
Aelioran wrote:
GladiusLegis wrote:

  • Opportunity Attack: Melee; When an enemy chooses to move away from your reach (5 ft.).


The War Caster feat will let you make this attack with a spell instead. Handy if you want to nail someone 4 times with your Eldritch Blast.
But won't you suffer disadvantage if you're using a ranged spell attack in this case? If so, a spell without a ranged attack roll would be better.

You can do this without the disadvantage by having both the War Caster + Crossbow Expert feats.




Originally posted by Squad:


Gruff_Ironfist wrote:
Squad wrote:
Aelioran wrote:
GladiusLegis wrote:

  • Opportunity Attack: Melee; When an enemy chooses to move away from your reach (5 ft.).


The War Caster feat will let you make this attack with a spell instead. Handy if you want to nail someone 4 times with your Eldritch Blast.
But won't you suffer disadvantage if you're using a ranged spell attack in this case? If so, a spell without a ranged attack roll would be better.
You can do this without the disadvantage by having both the War Caster + Crossbow Expert feats.

True. I guess I'm just waiting for the errata that says Crossbow Expert only applies to crossbows or ranged weapon attacks. But for now . . .




Originally posted by Lawolf:


Polearm Master + War Caster works for Eldritch Blasting OAs.

OAs interrupt movement, aka they happen before their trigger. If you wield a polearm and someone attempts to enter your reach they provoke an OA. This attack occurs when the target is 6 feet away from you, as it occurs before the movement that brings them into your reach. You then blast them with up to four eldirtch blasts without any disadvantage because the enemy is not within 5 feet of you. Finally, the enemy completes their move and ends adjacent to you.




Originally posted by 2Chlorobutanal:


Lawolf wrote:Polearm Master + War Caster works for Eldritch Blasting OAs.

OAs interrupt movement, aka they happen before their trigger. If you wield a polearm and someone attempts to enter your reach they provoke an OA. This attack occurs when the target is 6 feet away from you, as it occurs before the movement that brings them into your reach. You then blast them with up to four eldirtch blasts without any disadvantage because the enemy is not within 5 feet of you. Finally, the enemy completes their move and ends adjacent to you.

I think you're maybe using rules from other games or editions to interpret this. The OA rules say they interrupt movement, which does not mean before, but rather during. The regular OA rules also state that the OA occurs "right before" they leave your reach, which if your reach is 5', means your ranged attacks are still disadvantaged when you take the OA. Polearm master describes the special OA occuring "as" (or maybe "when," I don't have my PHB) the creature enters your reach, which if you're using a quarterstaff, is again within 5' and would cause disadvantage on ranged attacks when the OA occurs.

This is moot if you use Polearm Master or a regular OA with War Caster and a reach weapon such as a glaive or halberd, but using War Caster with any non-reach weapon or a quarterstaff Polearm Master means the character can't possibly attack beyond 5', which is also the cut-off for disadvantage on ranged attacks.

So basically, if you want to use eldritch blast on OAs without applying disadvantage from close range, without a way to cancel it out (such as Crossbow Expert or competing advantage), you need to wield a reach weapon.




Originally posted by GladiusLegis:


Yunru wrote:
Plaguescarred wrote:FYI Both Co-Creators Mike Mearls and Jeremy Crawford confirmed on twitter that the reach property was not intended to only increase when attacking and Jeremy further clarified the distance at which a Polearm Master OA is provoked depending on the weapon wielded;


@JeremyECrawford On the grid, the target is adjacent if you're using a quarterstaff, but 5 feet away with the other PM weapons.
Huh. Interesting. (I updated it with that info, for what it's worth.)

This is kind of a double-edged sword, though, as an enemy who tries to move away from you wouldn't provoke an OA until it's past 10 feet, giving them more freedom to move around you. So I'm OK with this, since it balances out that way.




Originally posted by Thank_Dog:


Not sure if anyone has realised this but with the Battlemaster's Riposte, it can be used on your turn to deliberately provoke an opportunity attack and thus get an extra attack on your turn. Pretty sweet. It's almost like the 4e fighter's Passing Attack.




Originally posted by Plaguescarred1:


Spell:

  • Hellish Rebuke, Lv. 1: Not an attack, but 2d10 auto-damage (fire), DEX save for half; When being damaged by a creature you can see within 60 feet of you.



Action:

  • Ready: Another way to attack with your Reaction when you can't use your action to attack on your turn is to Ready. Its not optimal being not complementary to your action, but its can still be useful.






Originally posted by Coredump00:


Just getting into 5th... what allows 4 Eldritch Blasts on an OA?






Originally posted by Strill:


Coredump00 wrote:Just getting into 5th... what allows 4 Eldritch Blasts on an OA?
The War Caster feat.


Originally posted by 2Chlorobutanal:


Note, however, that contrarily to what I previously thought, reach (from a reach weapon) doesn't work with War Caster, because the OA from War Caster is not being made with your reach weapon. Therefore, in the vast majority of situations, War Caster OAs will be provoked within 5' of an enemy, and thus eldritch blast is a really bad spell to use as an OA unless you also have Crossbow Expert as a feat (to negate the disadvantage from making ranged attacks within 5' of an enemy).

Ready-Attack can be useful for Rogues affected by haste to get two Sneak Attacks, because Sneak Attack is once per turn, not once per your turn. The rogue can attack with the haste-granted action and Ready with his or her "normal" action. This is really only beneficial when you think you won't get an OA anyway, though, as you cannot OA and take a Readied action in the same round.





Originally posted by mellored:


Command, Dissonant Whispers, Dominate, and Compulsion, and al canl make enemies provoke OA's.

Edit: and i think some fear effects too.




Originally posted by Greenstone.Walker:


Squad wrote:I guess I'm just waiting for the errata that says Crossbow Expert only applies to crossbows or ranged weapon attacks. But for now . . .

Agreed. The feat is called "Crossbow Mastery", not "Ranged Attack Mastery".




Originally posted by Yunru:


Great Weapon Master is called "Great Weapon Master", not "Cleave With All Weapons Also Power Strike With Heavy Weapons", your point?


Originally posted by Huntsman57:


Both Parry and Riposte BM maneuvers are reactions, as are the spells Shield and Counterspell.




Originally posted by Archon007:


Yunru wrote:Great Weapon Master is called "Great Weapon Master", not "Cleave With All Weapons Also Power Strike With Heavy Weapons", your point?
Their point is Great Weapon Master doesn't specify a specific weapon, like CROSSBOW Mastery feat does.
However, there is a huge thread on this topic and it doesn't need to be rehashed here. There is a camp that thinks the very specific title affects the feat and a camp that thinks the title is just fluff and doesn't matter. Let's just leave it at that.




Originally posted by Yunru:


Let's not. My Sorcerer/Warlock is called Clerica. Does that mean she has to be a Cleric?




Originally posted by Coredump00:




Yunru wrote:Great Weapon Master is called "Great Weapon Master", not "Cleave With All Weapons Also Power Strike With Heavy Weapons", your point?
Well, Heavy weapons and Great weapons are pretty much the same thing, so that part makes sense.