Map Making Advice Needed

Clefton Twain

First Post
So, I wrote a book. Actually, two books, and the third has been started.

I am almost ready to publish the first book but I have one thing standing in the way--a map of the realm. I am truly not an artist and cannot draw to save my life, so I am throwing this out there for advice.

What software do you prefer to draw overland maps? Mine is going to be a black and white map and will not have a ton of granular detail, but I want it to be somewhat in the style of, say, the map from the Lord of the Rings books--a little aged.

I have looked a little at Campaign Cartographer and I'm pretty sure it could do the job but, seeing as how I have zero experience in this area (I work with words, not pixels), I could use a little guidance.

Thank you!

--CT

Janx

Hero
hire an artist.

I'm about 3/5 of the way through my first book, and am contemplating things like book covers and websites. Even though I could build the website myself, I'm still considering hiring somebody to do it.

Because presentation matters.

This is one area, where I can make it work, but I need it to look good.

Don't skimp out.

PS. by all means try your hand at it. That will make it easier to convey what you want done to the artist.

Clefton Twain

First Post
I did hire an artist--months ago. He still hasn't done anything on it, so my question was really pertaining to "Can I do this myself and what tool is best?"

I only need one map, done once, for all three (or four) books.

--CT

Janx

Hero
That sounds like a different problem. seems like you can recall the contract and bid it out again. I know there's a regular on here who does maps and stuff.

For the DIY, since you may have to go that path, study as many maps as you can, see what's been done in books, particularly, as the constraints are higher than what an RPG map might do. look at how they do trees, mountains. A lot of times, it's a patternable technique.