Japanes Sword Additions and Corrections

Shadowrun Man

First Post
I find that D&D has not done to well with some of the Japanes weapons more specifically the swords like the Katana. I more of want to clear things up then change things, but the Katana definitaly needs to be reworked. The main reason I say this is because the Katana is not a battle sword, it is a dueling and show weapon, but still no less deadly. I am not an expert but I do have some knowledge about them.

Here is the list of the weapons that I know of tjhat either can be added and/or need too be fixed....

No-Dashi
This sword is used on horse back, the blade of this weapon is extremely long giving it tramendous reach. Because the sword lenght it has a long grip and required two hand to use. This particular weapon would count as a greatsword at least if not larger, but there is no sword larger then a greatsword. The quality of the weapon depends on the owner of the weapon, but most where owned by samuria and as so most are master work.

Katana
This ornate weapon was primarily a dueling and show weapon, it was never used in real combat. The blade of this weapon is curved and has a razor sharp edge that is capable of slicing through bone witlittle effort. When made the weapon smith meassured the owner and made the lenght of the blade based off of that. When a samuria was in a duel the the blade was weild one handed as it was pulled out of the scabered in a duel the opening stroke. This was also the strike that determined the victor of the duel. Becuase the varies in length the Katana should range from a long sword to a bastard sword. Of course the quality of the weapon is always going to be masterwork.

Battle Sword