D&D 5E Ranger- Soldier Backround with panther

Joshua DeMuth

First Post
1: Can or can't the ranger have a bonus action ATK with duel wielding from offhand weapon? I've read some older posts and this is my first time playing. Our DM is well versed but I want to have the correct information on my creature sheet.
I know the panther has keen smell and the ATK's Bite and Pounce, Pounce providing an additional ATK as bonus action> (if the panther moves at least 20 feet forward and hits with claw ATK and the target fails on a DC 12 Strength saving throw or is knocked prone. If target is prone, the panther can make one Bite ATK against it as a bonus action.)
However, i don't understand the Dual Wielding bonus action which is my question mentioned first.
2: I do not understand why the 2 ATK's the panther has are both listed as Melee weapon ATK +4 to hit but the damage is 4 1d4 + 2 slashing for pounce and 5 1d6 +2 for Bite. I'm not referring to the die, rather when to apply the melee +4. I'm currently trying to fill out the creature sheet and have no idea where to write it. Thanks for any help and patience, as i am a newbie!
-JLD

mellored

Legend
1: Anyone, including both the ranger and wizard, can use their bonus action to make an off-hand attack if they used their action to make an attack with their main hand.
Note that you do not get +Str/Dex to damage when you Two-Weapon-Fight, unless you have a feature.

2: The attack roll is 1d20+Str (or Dex for finesse weapons)+ your proficiency bonus.
The panther probably has 14 Str (+2) and +2 for their proficiency bonus. = +4.

Damage is your weapon (1d4 for claws, apparently) + your str/dex (+2).

jgsugden

Legend
You need to look at which rules you use for an animal companion. Are you using the Unearthed Arcana article for the Revised Ranger?