5E Z's Multi classing Thoughts - Page 3
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27
  1. #21
    Member
    Grandfather of Assassins (Lvl 19)



    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,021
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    TSRWotC EvacueeD&D

    ° Block Zardnaar


    ° Friend+
    Quote Originally Posted by Kobold Stew View Post
    For the Ranger 5/Rogue x combination:

    Two Ranger archetypes jn XGTE offer comparable benefits up to level 5:

    Horizon Walker makes all damage from a sneak attack become Force damage, with +1d8. It uses up a Bonus Action (generally bad for Rogues; and needs to be within 30'), but only for the first round the creature is attacked.

    Monster Slayer adds +1d6, and also uses up a bonus action for the first round, but does so at a range of 60'.

    Both are comparable, and don't require the target already to be injured, which is the case with Hunter (Colossus Slayer).
    I prefer horde breaker over colossus slaer. A Ranger/Rogue should probably dual wield.

  2. #22
    Community Supporter
    Grandmaster of Flowers (Lvl 18)

    Kobold Stew's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Funcouver
    Posts
    5,718
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Gold ENnie WinnerI Defended The Walls!

    ° Block Kobold Stew


    ° Friend+
    Fair enough -- Horde breaker requires a second opponent (which allows for a less direct comparison).

    HW still worth considering, I feel.

  3. #23
    Member
    Grandfather of Assassins (Lvl 19)



    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,021
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    TSRWotC EvacueeD&D

    ° Block Zardnaar


    ° Friend+
    Quote Originally Posted by Kobold Stew View Post
    Fair enough -- Horde breaker requires a second opponent (which allows for a less direct comparison).

    HW still worth considering, I feel.
    2nd opponent seems to fire a lot, maybe every 2nd or 3rd round.

    I changed my mind when I had a player dual wield ranger wih hordebreaker and tempest archetype from EN5ider.

  4. #24
    Member
    Myrmidon (Lvl 10)



    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    North kerry
    Posts
    1,705
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    I Defended The Walls!

    ° Block ardoughter


    ° Friend+
    I am just curious, because I have seen this a couple of times already but why does shield per RAW require Warcaster? I do not seem to see it/what am I missing?

  5. #25
    Community Supporter
    Grandmaster of Flowers (Lvl 18)

    Kobold Stew's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Funcouver
    Posts
    5,718
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Gold ENnie WinnerI Defended The Walls!

    ° Block Kobold Stew


    ° Friend+
    You need a free hand to be able to cast a spell requiring somatic components. If you have a sword and shield, you don't have a free hand. War Caster gets around that.

  6. #26
    Member
    Myrmidon (Lvl 10)



    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    North kerry
    Posts
    1,705
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    I Defended The Walls!

    ° Block ardoughter


    ° Friend+
    Quote Originally Posted by Kobold Stew View Post
    You need a free hand to be able to cast a spell requiring somatic components. If you have a sword and shield, you don't have a free hand. War Caster gets around that.
    Ok, now I understand. I build my EK with greatsword, never noticed.

  7. #27
    Community Supporter
    Grandmaster of Flowers (Lvl 18)

    Kobold Stew's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Funcouver
    Posts
    5,718
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Gold ENnie WinnerI Defended The Walls!

    ° Block Kobold Stew


    ° Friend+
    With a greatsword, it is assumed you can always free up one hand to cast a spell.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Similar Threads

  1. [GUIDE] The Outdoorsman Guide to Natural Ranging: A Rangers Guide
    By Mistwell in forum Character Builds & Optimization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Wednesday, 30th September, 2015, 07:31 PM
  2. [GUIDE] Playing Dice with the Universe: A Slant Guide to Wild-Magic Sorcerer
    By Cognomen's Cassowary in forum *D&D 5th Edition News, Rules, Homebrews, and House Rules
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: Monday, 21st September, 2015, 12:34 AM
  3. MCing Barbarian and Paladin, can you Divine Smite while raging? It ...
    By Bryk in forum *D&D 5th Edition News, Rules, Homebrews, and House Rules
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Thursday, 21st August, 2014, 12:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •